But Papa! Why? Chapter 3

I updated the description. This is a modern AU story, set in the present time

“Can you see if it is under Isidor Levinson?” Cora asked. She was getting frustrated; the taxi driver had dropped her off in front of the apartment building. Her father had bought an apartment in Hammersmith, she would have panoramas of the river Thames, along with London’s skyline. As always, her father had not spared any expenses for her. He had told her that the concierge would hand her the key. But that guy was not willing to cooperate and did not hand her anything.

Cora rubbed her temples; she was tired and wanted to take a bath before she would go out and explore her surroundings.

“I am Mr. Levinson’s daughter, here you can see my ID. I am Miss. Levinson.”

With a suspicious look on his face, the concierge took her ID. “This is an American ID.” He said.

“That is correct sir. My father as well as myself, is American. My father bought this apartment because I am going to work here in London. Do you want me to call him?” Cora looked at her watch. It was 10 o’clock, and her father was still asleep in New York. He was not going to be happy if she would wake him up. “Even though I am not sure, he will answer. We have a 5-hour time difference. He will not be happy to be woken up, just for telling you, you can hand me the keys.”

She knew her father had sent a lot of money, to make sure her apartment would be ready, and her luggage would be put inside her home. She did not like to threaten this concierge, but if he was going to be stubborn for much longer, she would.

The concierge did not say anything, and still looked at her ID.

“I will call my father, but.” She paused for a second to see if he was reacting. “It will have a consequence for the bonus he was going to send.” She saw that her words had the right impact. She was handed the keys. With a sigh, she walked to the lift.

+++

Robert did a last check, he wanted to be sure everything was present on the new desk. The colleague from America would come tomorrow, he was still dreading it.

He opened his laptop and started working on the last request that came in. A recently opened sky bar wanted their expertise for a new advertisement campaign. Patrick, his father had said he should wait and work on it together with the new colleague. But Robert was stubborn and wanted this project to be his. He knew he could not finish it before tomorrow, but at least he would be the one deciding on the direction. He wanted to be in the lead. Show him who was the boss in this London office.

“Are you very busy?” Rosamund’s voice sounded.

Robert looked up. “Depending on your question.”

Rosamund chuckled. “That is a fair answer, I am going out for dinner and a drink, do you want to join me?”

“Is Marmaduke not joining you?” Robert said semi surprised.

Rosamund gave him a dirty look. “I am allowed to do things without him. But never mind, I did not ask you anything. Enjoy your evening alone.”

Robert watched her leave. He scolded himself, he should be nicer towards her. Now he was forced to have dinner at his mother’s house. She had asked him this morning. Now he regretted not taking Rosamund’s offer.

+++

Cora entered a pub nearby at the riverside. She had fallen asleep in the bathtub. She felt refreshed and tired at the same time. The jetlag was already hitting her. It was the first time she was in London, and it was a weird experience. They spoke the same language, but she did not understand a word of what the people around her said to each other. She stood in the doorway, not knowing what to do. There was no host to welcome people.

Somebody pushed her aside. She was standing in the way. She muttered an apology. A red-haired woman was looking in her direction. The woman was sitting on her own at a table. Cora quickly looked away; she did not want to be rude. She did not see an empty table and she was not sure what to do. She needed to eat something, so she walked towards the bar and took an empty bar stool.

“What can I get you?” One of the bartenders asked.

“A water please.” Cora was aware of how insecure she sounded. Why did she feel like this? She had never been insecure in New York.

Cora looked around the pub and noticed the red-haired woman was still looking at her. She felt herself blushing and tried to look in another direction.

A woman appeared next to her. “a Merlot please.” Cora noticed that it was the red-haired woman. “Can I offer you a drink.”

Cora raised her eyebrows. “You are asking me?” she said surprised.

“Yes, I was asking you. It looked like you were looking for a table, I have a table for myself and can use some company. Did you already look at the menu?”

Cora was confused, why was this woman so nice to her.

The bartender handed the woman her glass and looked at Cora. “Do not worry, this is Lady Rosamund, and she always is nice when there is a new face inside the pub.

“Oh.” Cora did not like how she reacted; they must think she was slow. “Well, I would love to eat something, what do you recommend since you know this place.”

“You do not sound as if you are from England, do you like fish?”

“I am from New York, and I love fish.”

“Go for the fish&chips the best way to get to know the English culture. For me Bangers and mash please, and another glass for her.”

Cora followed Rosamund to her table.

“I figure that this is your first time in London? When did you arrive?”

“This morning and yes this is my first time.”

“What brings you to this pub, we normally do not see a lot of tourists here.” Rosamund took a sip of her wine.

“My apartment is in Henley Apartments, and the concierge told me about this pub.” Cora answered.

“You are living here?” Rosamund said surprised.

Cora felt her cheeks colour again. “I am working here in London, and we bought an apartment in Hammersmith, because the office is also located here.

A young woman brought their dinner.

Plaats een reactie