But Papa! Why? Chapter 35

A gasp escaped Cora’s mouth when Rosamund stepped out of the changing room. She was wearing a creme white strapless jumpsuit. The top was a silky fabric that was draped in layers.

Rosamund turned around. “Do you like it?” She asked.

“You look amazing in it. Marmaduke will be in awe as soon as he sees you.”

“That is what I am aiming for. Mama will be furious when she sees my choice.” Rosamund winked. “Now let’s see how your bridesmaid dress looks on you.”

“Oh Rosamund, this is your day. I wasn’t expecting to go dress shopping for me.” Cora protested.

“Cora I have already some dresses hanging aside for you. Please try them on.”

Cora smiled. “When you are sure. Oke let me see your picks.”

Rosamund had picked four dresses. Cora stepped out in the last one. The first three were not it and Cora did not like this one either. “Maybe, I should follow your example and not go for a dress. I bet they have suits or jumpsuits for bridesmaids too?” She looked at the shop assistant.

“We most definitely have that.” The shop assistant answered.

“Cora, Mama and Papa are going to get a heart attack when we both do not appear in a dress.”

“Isn’t that their problem and not yours?” Cora said carefully.

Rosamund laughed softly. “You are right, but what would Robert say?”

“I am going to sound harsh, but I do not care what he thinks. Your opinion and Marmaduke’s matter on this day. No one else’s.”

“Oh Cora, I love you. Thank you for being my friend.” Rosamund wrapped her arms around Cora and held her tight. “I am glad you are making sure this will be my day.”

“Rosamund, is there something bothering you?” When Rosamund hugged her, she felt it was more intense than usual.

With a deep sigh, Rosamund lowered her eyes and sat down.

“Ros?” Cora now said with worry in her voice. “What is wrong, can you tell me? Do you want to tell me?”

“We would not tell anybody before the wedding.”

“You worry me, Rosamund.”

“Marmaduke is ill.”

Cora slowly sat down on the sofa. “How bad is it?”

Rosamund was wringing her hands in her lap. “Cancer, it is cancer.”

Cora stretched her hand and took Rosamund’s.”When will they start with the treatment?”

Now Rosamund looked up, and Cora saw the desperate look in her eyes.

“Rosamund? Is this why the wedding day is this fast?”

Rosamund nodded her head.

The shop assistant came back with a colourful suit and a jumpsuit for Cora to try on.

+++

“Hey, I was not expecting to find you in my kitchen tonight.” Robert said surprised when he got home and saw Cora in his apartment. He stepped closer and kissed her neck. “I thought you would go out for dinner with Ros. Did she find a dress?”

Cora nodded. “She did.”

“Cora?” Robert put his hand on her shoulders and turned her around. “What is the matter?”

“She asked me not to tell you.” Cora looked at the ground, and quickly looked up into his eyes. Suddenly she wrapped her arms around him and pressed her body close to his. Her hand moved to his hair.

Robert put his hands around her and kept her close as long as she needed. “You do not need to tell me. It is alright.”

When Cora looked up at him again he saw tears in her eyes, one rolled down over her cheek. Softly he brushed it away, gentle he pressed his lips on Cora’s. “Tell me about her dress.”

Cora kissed him back. “That will be a surprise. Did you already plan Marmaduke’s stag do?”

“I am thinking about it, but it is a bit early is it not?”

Cora turned back towards the stove. “Maybe you could arrange it earlier.”

He pressed another kiss in her neck. “I do not know what happened and what is wrong, but I will start planning his party. Is there time for me to take a quick shower? It is so incredibly hot outside and we went on a lunch walk. Papa said it would be good for me.”

Cora leaned her head back and smiled at him. “It is good for you, you still need to make sure you walk enough to get that last bit of healing done. Dinner will be ready in about fifteen minutes.

She sighed when Robert left the kitchen, maybe it was not the best idea to go to Robert’s house after this afternoon. Rosamund asked not to tell the family about Marmaduke’s condition. But she could have known that Robert would see it on her face. She was glad he did not press her to tell him, even though she thought he should know. It was his sister. She was glad at least Rosamund had told her, this way she could be there for her and support her.

She heard the shower running, dinner was ready. She put it on a low heat and quickly got some writing paper out of Robert’s office. Slowly her stuff was also appearing in this house, but not her stationery things. They were still at home. She preferred her apartment over Robert’s. His apartment had an incredible view over the city, but it was always busy outside. Hers was looking over the Thames River and when she went for a stroll it was quiet outside.

The shower was still running, she could finish this before he got out and went back into the kitchen.

‘Dear Harold,

Hope you are doing well. How is Mama doing? And the company?

My life here has changed a lot, as you probably realised. Robert’s proposal was the most romantic think that ever happened to me. But I will not bore you again with that story. I cannot thank you enough for allowing me to marry him. Or at least to het married to him.

Well, that is not why I am writing this letter. I need to talk to somebody about this, and I cannot tell Robert. It has to do with Rosamund his sister and her fiancée Marmaduke. Marmaduke is ill, very ill. They are going to get married this Autumn, the wedding is arranged very quickly. Today I learned that Marmaduke has pancreatic cancer, stage four. It has already spread to his liver and lungs. Rosamund told me this afternoon that he will probably not make it till the end of this year. She asked me not to tell her family, they wanted to prepare for the wedding without everybody worrying about him. I am not sure if that is wise, but I do not have a choice and will need to keep my lips sealed. I do hope you will not tell Mama or anybody about this letter.

I am quite scared of what is going to happen. Rosamund is my friend, and I do not want to see her unhappy. And as long as nobody knows about this, I cannot do anything.

Dear brother, I am sending you a big hug with this letter and a kiss for Mama. I will wrap Robert a bit closer in my arms tonight and thank God he is still with me.

Ps. He told me that he wants children. Oh, Harold, he wants children! Can you imagine me with a little one? Because I cannot wait for Robert to be a proud daddy. Let us hope it is in the stars for us.

Sending you lots of love and kisses,

Your little sis, Cora.

Cora smelled Robert’s pineapple and cedarwood eau de cologne. She looked up and saw him enter the kitchen. His hair was still wet and he was wearing light beige pants with a dark blue polo shirt. That was something she loved so much about him. He was always dressed niceley. She folded the letter in half and put it in the envelope.

“You look refreshed.” She said smiling, while she got up to serve dinner.

Robert took a couple of big steps to reach her. “I feel refreshed. I am happy you are here, I think I forgot to tell you that when I got home.”

Cora raked with her fingers through his hair. “I am happy to be here too. We should do that more often.”

Robert kissed her neck and softly bit her earlobe. “Where do you want to live?”

“I heard you had a large house somewhere?” Cora leaned her full body weight against Robert.

“I heard you are going to rebuild a large house.” He moved his hands over her stomach and pressed her against his body.

“It is an option, but let us first eat.” Cora kissed him tenderly.

Plaats een reactie