But Papa! Why? Chapter 39

“You look stunning, sweetheart.” Cora pulled the lapels of Robert’s costume straight; she then fixed his emerald, green tie.

“Why are you not dressed yet?” Robert stroke over Cora’s nightrobe.

“Rosamund asked me to keep it a surprise from you.” She got on her tiptoes and kissed his waiting lips. “You will need to be a little bit more patient.”

Robert’s hand rested on Cora’s lower back. “You and my sister are being mean, but I guess I will have to get used to that.”

“It would make your life easier, if you did. Now skedaddle, Marmaduke is waiting for you. And I need to go to Rosamund. I will see you at the photo location.”

“Can you remind me why they are going to take the photos before the ceremony?” Robert kept his hand on Cora’s back, obviously reluctant to let go of her.

Soaking up the warmth of his hand, Cora leaned in on him. “Marmaduke will have much more energy at the beginning of the day. That way, the pictures will be perfect.”

“But they will not be wearing a wedding ring yet.”

“They will, and then after the pictures are taken, they take them off for the ceremony.”

Robert bent down and kissed Cora’s neck. “You have thought about everything my dear.”

“This was not my idea, but Baxter’s. Rosamund loved it and also Marmaduke agreed it would be the best option. The credits do not belong to me. Can you please hurry and leave, I need to get ready.”

“I could just stay and watch you getting ready.”

“No, you cannot.” Resolute Cora stepped back, forcing Robert’s hand to leave her backside.

+++

“Are you nervous?” Cora pinned up the last curl on Rosamund’s head. She had made a half up do, some strings were lost, and framing her face. Rosamund had applied a light shading of her make-up, just enough to lighten up her face, but not enough to see she was wearing makeup.

“Not really. Is that weird?” Rosamund turned around to look at Cora.

Cora rested her hands on Rosamund’s shoulders. “I do not think that it is weird. Although I can guarantee you that I will be nervous on my wedding day.”

“If I was marrying Robert, I would be nervous too.”

Both woman burst out laughing until there was a knock on the door. “Enter.” Cora managed to get out.

Baxter stepped in. “I am sorry to interrupt the fun, but we should go.”

Cora stepped back to look at Rosamund. Baxter stood next to her, and they both nodded in agreement. “You look marvellous.” Baxter said staring at her. Rosamund was standing in her strapless jumpsuit. Her red curls gave her an angelic look.

“Thank you sweet. You both look amazing too. Baxter, thank you for wearing a pantsuit too.”

“I have to admit, I was relieved when you came with that request. It is a lot easier to move around wearing pants.”

“Marmaduke can count himself lucky that he will be marrying you.” Cora said, smiling at her.

“I can say the same thing about you.” Rosamund looked at Cora’s emerald, green jumpsuit. It had one shoulder and Cora was beaming in it. “Robert will faint when you walk into the venue.”

“I will have a hard time keeping his hands of me, I am afraid.” Cora quickly closed her mouth and with bright red cheeks she looked at Baxter. “I am sorry, that was too much information.”

“I have seen how his Lordships looks at you and a I can only be jealous of that.”

Cora cringed when she said his Lordship, but she tried to not show it.

“Did you ever look at how Molesley looks at you?” Rosamund chipped in. “Can you please call him Mr. Crawley or just Robert. I do not like the use of our titles, especially not today.”

“I am sorry, it is a habit I guess.”

“Let us go, Marmaduke will think you are abandoning him if we stay here any longer.” Cora hooked her arm in Rosamund’s.

+++

They arrived at Hampstead Heath; the photos would be taken around The Pergola. A beautiful hidden area in Golders Hill Park. The wisteria was growing everywhere and would offer a perfect background for wedding pictures.

Cora let Rosamund walk in front of her. She could see Marmaduke and Robert waiting and her heart jumped by all the excitement. Marmaduke did look good today and it made her happy.

“My darling.” Marmaduke uttered when he saw Rosamund. He got up from the chair he was sitting in and spread his arms, once Rosamund was close enough, he took her hands and twirled her around. “I was expecting a dress, but you made an excellent choice with this.” He paused and said in a whisper. “What do you call this?” He took the fabric between his fingers.

“A jumpsuit my dear. Thank you, you look mesmerising too. How are you feeling?”

“You can ask me this question once today and then after we will go and enjoy today without the worries of tomorrow.”

Cora could see Baxter taking shots from different angles, without being noticed by the pair. She knew she had made the right decision to ask Baxter, she had seen her work on several occasions and every time she amazed her how she did it. She moved like a shadow. She felt hands on her hips and a low voice said.

“You did an outstanding job with her hair, sweetheart.”

Cora turned her face so she could see Robert, who was standing behind her. “Thank you. She does look amazing, does she not?”

“So do you.” Robert twirled her around, like Marmaduke did with Rosamund. “No dress, even though it almost looks like a dress. I love how well I can see your figure.” His hungry fingers moved over her hips and thighs.

Softly Cora put her hand on his hand. “Tonight, you can play with this jumpsuit, but for now our attention should lay with Marmaduke and Rosamund.”

+++

“You may kiss the bride.” Molesley said and all the guest cheered. Cora noticed that even Violet was clapping. The moment Rosamund stepped into the aisle, Violet had gasped, but a quick gesture from Patrick made her swallow her reaction. Cora even saw her say that Rosamund looked beautiful when she walked past. Cora found it strange that Rosamund did not want her mother with her while preparing for today. But that was how their relationship was and she had gladly stepped in to help Rosamund with getting dressed. She felt Robert putting his arm around her waist. She looked up at him and whispered. “You did good by arranging this.”

Once everybody had congratulated the newlyweds, the buffet was opened. The band started playing and people went on the dance floor quickly after they finished the food.

Robert took Cora’s hand and guided her towards a free spot. “Can you Walz?”

Cora smiled, it was one of the things her mother had insisted on she would learn from a young age, ballroom dancing. With confidence she took his hand and got in position. This erupted a big smile on Robert’s face. “That means yes.”

Plaats een reactie