But Papa! Why? Chapter 41

Cora stared at the building. Mr Bricker’s company was located in the Victoria House. It was an impressive building. Even though she knew he only rented an office space in this building she was still impressed. She felt nervous, what if he knew who she was? Her name had been under their articles. She shook her shoulders, thinking that would make her even more nervous and it would show. She straightened her back and looked down at her clothes. This morning, she had been indecisive about what to wear. A long dress, a short dress? A skirt with a blouse? She ended up in a blue pantsuit with a waistcoat. Her curls were tamed into a low bun, Robert had messed it up a bit once she wanted to leave the house. He had kissed her passionately and his hands started roaming through her hair and had tangled it up. She loved how affectioned Robert was. She always said her love language was physical touch and it was clearly also Robert’s. She took in a deep breath and crossed the street and entered the building.

“I have an appointment with “Advertisements with Mr. Bricker’ Where do I need to go?” She asked the man behind the reception.

“Third floor and then follow the signs.”

“Thank you very much.”

+++

“Do you want a cup of tea?” Mr. Bricker offered Cora a chair.

She sat down and smiled up. “Thank you, that would be nice.”

“Miss MacLaine was it not?”

Cora had used her mother’s name, instead of her own. “You are correct, Mr. Bricker.”

“You can call me Simon.” He said.

“Simon, nice to meet you. I am Cora.” She took the cup Simon handed her.

“Well, what can I help you with?” Simon sat down at his desk and pulled a notepad closer.

“As I wrote, the company I work for, ‘Levinson and Son’, is looking to place some advertisements in England and we could use some help with that.”

“They are an advertisement company themselves. Why would they need my help?”

“We know the American market, but we realise that the British market is different. And we like a good start.”

Simon frowned. “I do not see how you came to the conclusion that I would place advertisements for a competitor?”

This was something Patrick had prepared her for because that was what he would answer if he got that question. “I understand, and that is why we are interested to work together.” Cora answered.

Now Simon leaned forward, his eyes went over Cora’s body. “Why my company? You must know that I am not the biggest company.”

“What do you mean?” Cora tried to sound as innocent as she could. She hated the way he looked at her, it gave her chills. Not the chills that run over her back when Robert run his hands over her skin.

“There is another company, based in this same city that is bigger than we are at the moment. They are called ‘Crawley Advertisements’. Did you hear about them?”

“I think I did.” Cora tried hard to keep a straight face. “But I am not aware why the choices that are made were made.”

“Well, we will be the biggest company soon. Lot of business are coming to us, instead of ‘Crawley Advertisements. The company you work for made the right decision to choose my company.”

“What is your secret Simon?” Cora asked.

“My secret? I am not sure if it is a secret when you simply offer lower prices. Is it?”

“Probably not, but when you ask less, you can offer less can you not?”

“That is for us to know.” Mr Bricker winked and leaned even further forward. “The clients do not know that. They will get their advertisement and are happy.”

“If it is that simple, everybody could start an advertising business. But you need to deliver good work to keep your clients with you.”

Simon did not answer, he squinted his eyes. “Is ‘Levinson and Son’ going to talk with ‘Crawley Advertisements’?

“I cannot answer you that.” Cora said. She found it hard to keep her face composed. She tried her hardest to give him answers that would not raise question later. What if he ever found out she worked for ‘Crawley Advertisements’. What would he do, how would he react?

“From the moment you stepped inside my office, I have a feeling I have seen you before. Is that possible Miss MacLaine?”

Cora felt her cheeks colour and she looked to the floor; he had called her by her last name again. “I live in London for some time now, maybe we have been to the same events?”

“You are a very good-looking woman, a woman I would never forget when I saw her. And I know I have seen you before, I just cannot place the setting.”

“I am very sorry, but I have not seen you before. So, we did not meet on the day you think you saw me.” Cora needed to leave this office. She did not like the tension that was suddenly present. Did Simon suspect something, he had suddenly called her Miss MacLaine again instead of Cora. “Maybe you should schedule a video call with Mr. Levinson about this possible cooperation? I am very sorry, I do not think I will be able to answer the question you have, and I am wasting your time.”

Simon suddenly put his hand on Cora’s that was resting on the table. “We could meet up, outside of this work setting. I would love to know you better and it would help you company immensely.”

This scared Cora, she had not anticipated that he would make a move on her. “Why would it help ‘Levinson and Son’ when we went out? You said so yourself, it would be out of the work setting.”

“Dating the boss of the company you want to work with, gives you a great advantage.” A dark shadow flashed in Simon’s eyes.

Cora got scared now, Simon was still holding her hand in his. “Can you please let go of my hand?” She asked politely.

Simon did not respond, he stared at her. “I have seen you; I just know.”

“Please let go of my hand. I will think about your offer, but please let go of my hand.” Simon’s phone rang, it was just the distraction that Cora needed to pull her hand back. She quickly stood and said: “Thank you for your time. You will hear from ‘Levinson and Son’. Goodbye.”

Simon also stood. “We will meet again, that I am sure off.”

The dark gaze in Simon’s eyes scared Cora and she rushed out of his office. It took her the entire trip with the subway to get rid of the nasty feeling he gave her.

+++

“You are back.” Patrick greeted her. In his office were also Robert and Rosamund waiting for her. It was Rosamund who walked over the moment she stepped inside the office.

“What happened?” Rosamund put her hand on Cora’s arm.

Cora looked up at her and smiled. “Mr. Bricker told me how they are getting all the clients. But please let me never go back to that office or meet up with him ever again.”

“What did he do?” Robert’s voice sounded. “Did he touch you?” He took two big steps and stood next to Rosamund.

“He did not. He just touched my hand. But he asked me out.” Cora could not look at Robert, she knew he would get very angry, and she did not want to see the disappointment in his face.

“How dare he!” Robert hissed. “Father, Cora is never going back to that man. I do not care how much of a threat his company will be. Cora is not going to be involved anymore.”

“He only touched my hand, Robert.” Cora said timid. She knew his reaction was valid because Simon did ask her out. But Simon did not know she was engaged to be married, or did he? What if he had known who she was from the start? “Do you think he knew who I was? He did say he thought he had seen me before. Did we make a mistake, by using my father’s company?”

“Harold is more than capable to repel this Mr. Bricker if he keeps pushing. Just leave that to your brother. Did Mr. Bricker tell you anything about their tactics? How is he getting all the clients?” Rosamund asked, her hand was still on Cora’s arm.

“He simply said that he asks lower prices and that is the reason people are coming to him. But when I said that with less money you can offer less. He gave me a cryptic answer, that it was for him to know. Did we ever see an advertisement of his?”

“The ones I have found, where very basic and did not get out very far.” Patrick answered. “It seems like he is not really a treat to our company. His downfall is already upon him.”

“Cora? What are you not telling me?”

Now Cora looked up to Robert. “I am a bit scared of what he would do, once he finds out I work for you. He did look at me with a weird look in his eyes, and his gaze was very dark. He gave me the gibbers.”

Robert’s index finger brushed over Cora’s cheek. “Even if he knows you work for us. He would not do anything, maybe he will try to sue our company.”

“Sue?” Cora asked with widespread eyes.

“He could try, because we tried to get company information out of him. But it would never stand, because everything he told, he told out of free will. Do not be scared my dear. You did splendid and we know exactly what we needed to know. He is not a real treat, and we will keep doing what we are doing.” Robert took Cora’s hand in his and softly squeezed her hand. “Papa, is it alright if Cora and I call it a day?”

“Of course, son.” Patrick answered and then he looked at Cora. “You did amazing. As Robert already said, we know exactly what we needed to know. And do not worry about that Mr. Bricker, I will deal with him. If he ever tries to bother you, he has to get passed me first.”

“Thank you. I really appreciate that.”

“You gave us some valuable information today. Keep that in mind, you did splendid.”

Plaats een reactie