Follow your heart or family, part three, chapter 15

The first thing Cora did when she got home was cuddle Oliver. He started to coo when he heard her voice. His little body moulded against hers.

Robert stood behind her and kissed her in her neck. “He is happy you are back home, as am I.”

Cora leaned back against him. “I missed you two.” They stood there for some time. Soaking up each other’s body warmth.

Robert hands roamed around her body. “I missed feeling you. I can’t sleep without you next to me.”

Cora turned her head to kiss Robert. “I love you.”

“I will take the day off tomorrow. We can do something fun with the three of us.” His hand caressed Oliver’s back, who had fallen asleep in Cora’s arms.

“Oh?” Cora said in surprise. “I had hoped to just stay in. I am exhausted.”

Robert looked guilty. “Of course, sorry, I forgot. We will stay home and just have a relaxing day. I will ask Sybil to come and get Oliver, or we can call Nanny?”

“No.” Cora pulled Oliver closer to her body. “I missed this little guy so much.”

Robert smiled. “I can guarantee you, he missed you too.”

+++

He let Cora sleep in, Robert could handle another morning with Oliver alone. He himself finally had a goodnight sleep with Cora’s little snores next to him. He wasn’t complete without her next to him.

Mary had called and also Sybil, he had told the girls they needed the day together. This evening they would be welcome after dinner. He felt Cora’s hand on his stomach while he was on the phone with Sybil.

“Good morning,” she whispered, and leaned her body against his.

“Sybil, will you tell Mary and Edith, we will eat around 19.00 o’clock, so anything after that is ok.” Robert said, while placing one hand over Cora’s.

“The girls and their husbands are welcome to eat here, if they want?” Cora interrupted Robert. “I will make Beef Wellington.”

Robert’s eyes lit up. “Sybil, did you hear that? Please tell your sisters, we will see you tonight.” He hung up the phone. “Are you sure? Making dinner for 7 people is a lot.”

“I am sure, I love being in the kitchen. We can go to the shops together. Just being nice and homey.” She picked up Oliver from his highchair. “And you are coming with us.” She twirled him around.

+++

Cora and Robert decided to walk to the shops. Oliver was in his stroller, and they walked arm in arm. “I love this simple life.” Cora said.

“It was high time we would get our simple life. Enough drama in the last years. Now it is our time.”

“We must not forget Edith is still mourning. We aren’t back fully.” Cora answered.

“You are right and with our girls! Life will never be simple.” Robert chuckled.

Cora bought all the things she needed at the butcher and the local supermarket. They weren’t ready to go home yet, so they walked around some more. Oliver had fallen asleep. They chatted about everything and nothing and just enjoyed being together.

“Cora?” Robert asked after a few minutes of silence.

“Yes dear?”

“What would you say, if I make Matthew, head of the company? With Tom at his right hand?”

Cora looked surprised. “Already? Darling, are you sure? You have at least 10 more working years ahead of you? I am not ready to retire I think.”

“Hmm, maybe you are right. I still love working. I just thought we could have so much fun, just being free.”

“We will have our free days together, you can start with working less hours a week?”

+++

Cora was in the kitchen, when Sybil entered with Sybbie on her arm.

“Hello, darlings.” Cora greeted them. “Look at you! You are growing up so fast.” She said to Sybbie. “Where is Tom?”

“He is with papa, talking about cars.”

“Your husband is a bad influence on mine.” Mary said while entering the kitchen with George. “Hello mama.” She kissed Cora on her cheek. “It smells delicious, I missed a home cooked meal from you.”

Cora gave her a warm smile. “How is my darling boy doing?” She took George from Mary’s arms.

“All of us in the same kitchen, that’s a long time ago.” Edith said when she also entered the kitchen.

“All my girls back home. You girls can’t make me happier. Hello sweetheart.” She brushed her finger against Marigold’s cheek and kissed Edith’s.

The girls had sat down on the table. Sybbie was crawling around the kitchen.

“I missed this sound.” Robert said when he stepped into the kitchen. Tom and Matthew followed him. He stepped next to Cora and put his arm around her shoulder. “How wonderful to have you all here.” Robert saw Edith’s face. “Michael will always be with us in our hearts.” He walked over to Edith and kissed the top of her head.

Dinner had been long, the family stayed at the dinner table the whole evening. Marigold, George and Sybbie were put down in the guest bedroom until they all went home. Robert watched Cora while she was busy in the kitchen. He had checked on Oliver, he was sound asleep. He loved how Cora moved around, she had turned on some music. She was humming on the beats of -Growing old with you- from Restless Road.

Robert walked in and started singing with the chorus:
What you say we put us down some roots?
Find a house up on a hill
Travel ‘round this world
Put some pictures on the shelf
Maybe one day our babies go
And have some babies of their own
And you’ll get all my time ‘til all my time is through
I feel like growing old with you
Growing old with you
I feel like growing old with you

He wrapped his arms around her and moved slowly to the beat. “I will never stop loving dancing with you” he said softly in her ear.

“I will never stop loving you,” Cora said in response. Her body tight against his. “You make me feel whole again.” The music changed to -How long will I love you- from Ellie Goulding. Cora turned around to face Robert, she laid her arms in his neck and they slow danced together. “This was a wonderful day. I loved every second of it, but we should go to bed.”

“To sleep?” Robert said with a cheeky smile.

“Yes, to sleep. We both have to work tomorrow. I have that photoshoot at the London Eye at sunrise”

“Hmmm, maybe you are right.” His hands cupped her breasts. “We can be quick?”

Cora chuckled, “Not tonight, darling”

Plaats een reactie