Going on without you. Chapter 4

Jules entered Cora’s bedroom again, when she finished helping her get dressed and carried suitcases inside. She looked at the ground and tried to avoid looking at Cora.

“My daughter, is really serious about this.” She said frowning.

“You are correct, I am serious.” Mary followed Jules.

Cora stepped towards Mary and took her hands in hers. “Darling, can we talk about this.”

Mary pulled back her hands and wanted to say something, when she got interrupted by Andy who opened the door. “Milady, Tom Branson is waiting downstairs for you.”

“Jules, can you please start packing?” Mary said while walking out the room.

+++

“What brings you here?” Mary said when she greeted Tom.

“I was passing by and thought I would check in. I miss Downton sometimes.”

“I miss having you around.” Mary touched his arm, do you want tea?

Tom waited for Andy to leave the room before he started. “I can’t lie to you, Mary.”

Mary gave him a surprised look.

“I am here because of what is happening. Why do you force your mother to move?”

“Who told you this?” Mary looked upset.

“Never mind that, why are you doing this? Your mother needs time.” Tom looked Mary directly in the eye. “She always gave you and me space to grief.”

“Darling Sybil.” Mary said, lowering her eyes.

“I lost my wife, you lost your sister, but your Mother lost her daughter. Imagine losing Caroline.” Tom said. “And now she lost her husband.”

“I lost my husband to and you just said you lost your wife. We went on with our lives.”

Tom stared at her, what happened that she was this cruel. She always had been hard, but even for Mary this was strange behaviour. She was sitting opposite of him, he got up and sat next to her. Wrapping his arm around her shoulders. “It is alright to grief your father.” He said softly, when he felt Mary’s shoulders shutter.

The door to the library suddenly opened and a flustered Andy stood in the doorway. “Milady, you should come, it is her Ladyship.”

Tom and Mary gave each other a frightful look and rushed upstairs. There they found Jules sitting on her knees in front of Cora, who was visibly gasping for air and gripping her chest.

“Mama!” Mary fell on her knees before Cora, who gave her a faint smile. “Dr. Robb is on his way. Do you want to lay down.”

Cora shook her head, she didn’t want to move. Every movement hurt her.

Dr. Robb rushed in with paramedics. Cora was placed on a stretcher and carried outside. She was slipping in and out of conciseness.

She remembered that evening Robert was rushed to the hospital. They had dinner with the minister of health, when suddenly Robert’s ulcer burst and he covered her in blood. She was scared out of her mind, she was going to lose him. His words were still ringing in her ears. “If this is it, just know that I have loved you very, very much.”

She saw his face when she gave birth to Edith. Not a hint of disappointment, while she was feeling guilty. The same thing happened with Sybil, she was apologising and he was only looking at her and Sybil with love and adoration.

+++

Cora woke up not knowing where she was, she felt a hand in hers. She gave it a squeeze. “Mama?” It was Mary’s voice. “Oh, mama. I am so sorry. This is my fault.”

Cora shook her head and squeezed Mary’s hand again. “No.” Was the only thing she said.

“I blamed you for daddy’s death.” Mary pressed her mother’s hand against her cheek. It was the hand of an old lady. Her mother had always been slender, and now her hands were more bones than flesh. Nonetheless she still felt the same strength she always felt when she hold her mother’s hand.

Because of Mary’s words Cora thought about the night Robert died. They were just back home from America, Harold, her brother, had died and they went to his funeral. During the trip back home Robert had gotten an infection in his lungs. Back home his breathing got faint and he was rushed to the hospital. It was too late, they couldn’t help him anymore and he died that same night. Mary, Edith and Tom with their family, barely made it in time to say goodbye.

“Mary, what do you mean by that.” Cora heard Tom’s voice.

“He got that infection because he went to America with Mama.” Mary said softly.

“Your father died, because it was his time.” Tom put his hand on Mary’s shoulder.

“I know and I feel stupid for blaming Mama.” Mary looked at her mother’s face. She felt this was the last time she would look into her eyes. “Tom, can you make sure everybody is coming as fast as possible to the hospital?

Mary felt her mother’s hand moving and looked back at her. “Oh mama.” The rest of the words were stuck.

Cora opened her mouth.

“Mama, don’t talk, it is alright.”

Cora shook her head and squeezed her hand again. “I don’t blame you for anything. My love will always be with you.”

Mary bend down and kissed her mother’s cheek, she felt her hand on the back of her head pulling her close. She rested her head on her mother’s chest and could hear her heartbeat slow down.

+++

“Take my hand darling.” Cora was standing infront of a small bridge, Robert stretched out his hand. “I promise you it will be safe. Take my hand I will not let go.”

Cora looked behind her, she saw her children, Mary with Henry, Edith with Bertie and Tom with Lucy. All her grandchildren were there, George, Sybbie, Marigold, Caroline, Peter, Victor and Robert Junior her great. When she looked at Robert, she saw Sybil smiling at here, surrounded by her father Isidor, her mother Martha and her brother Harold.

Follow me, I promise you, everything will be alright.”

Cora took his hand and stepped on the bridge.

Thank you very much for the reviews. This story was already written before I started uploading. I contemplated to change the ending and go on with this story, but it is good the way it is. Maybe one day I will write an alternative ending to this.

 

Plaats een reactie