Love isn’t always easy. Chapter 3

Robert climbed in bed, why did he touch Cora in that way? He didn’t know himself. Out of habit, he followed her to the kitchen. Her smile was mesmerising, still. Even after 4 years of divorce, he had a soft spot for her.

He wondered what she was going to ask, when Edith entered the kitchen. Should he text her? And ask?. He figured it was better not to do that. There was a reason they were divorced.

He turned around and immediately was fast asleep.

+++

“Mum, you look amazing! What is the occasion?” Mary asked, when walking into her bedroom.

“Mary, darling, I didn’t know you were coming?” Cora was trying on her outfit for Robert’s ceremony this Saturday.

“Mary, kissed her mother’s cheek. I know, I just wanted to see my mother. I really like this colour on you.”

Cora turned around. “Do you think your father agrees?” She was wearing a peach coloured pants and a flower designed blouse.

Mary gave her a surprised look. “Why should Papa need to like this?”

Now it was Cora’s turn to look surprised. “The award ceremony for businessman of the year, is this Saturday right?”

“Uhm, yes.” Mary stuttered. “But the dress-code is white tie. You are a bit to colourful foe that.”

“White tie?” Cora exclaimed. “Your father didn’t tell me there was a dress code. I don’t have a proper dress. Now I have to find time to go shopping.” She sighed. “Your father never changes.”

“We can go tomorrow evening together?”

Cora took Mary’s hand. “Thank you darling, that makes it a lot easier, I can use your eye for fashion. Do you want to eat dinner here?”

“If that isn’t to much of a bother? Mathew is working late.”

Cora squeezed Mary’s hand. “It is never a bother to cook a meal for my daughter. Let’s see what I have.”

+++

Once Mary left, Cora gave Robert a call.

“When were you going to tell me about the dress code?” Cora shouted through the phone ones Robert picked up.

“I, I.” Robert stuttered.

“For your convenience, you just forgot. Or did you thought, me attending in a totally wrong outfit would be funny?”

“Cora, I didn’t do this to embarrass you, I really thought I told you. I am sorry. Do you have time to find a dress? I can send a tailor to your home

Cora took a deep breath. She didn’t know why she got this mad, it wasn’t like her to react in this way, she noticed she reacted more emotional recently. “You don’t have to do that. I am sorry for shouting at you. I will go shopping with Mary tomorrow.”

“I bet you will turn up in something stunning. See you on Saturday, I will pick you up around 18.00 o’clock.” He hang up the phone.

Cora felt a little bit guilty for the way she reacted, but she would have looked like a fool in her colourful pants and blouse, when all the woman would show up in floor-length dresses.

+++

Mary gasped and had to force her mouth shut. Cora stepped out the dressing room in a Blue metallic-weave cape-effect gown from Talbot Runhof’s. It was crafted from intricate blue mesh decorated with light-catching metallic threads, the exquisite floor-length style was elegantly tailored to her slim silhouette, worked with a dramatic cape-effect overlay.

“You will be the most beautiful woman in that room, Mama.” Mary said

Cora blushed. “Thank you darling. Isn’t this to much?”

“Definitely not, you should wear long sleeve gloves with it, to finish off the look and maybe put your hair into a chignon style?”

Cora smiled at Mary, she loved how enthusiastic she could be when Cora was dressing up for a party. It was a long time ago that she went to one. The last party was when she was still married to Robert.

+++

“Are you nervous for tonight?” Edith asked while handing the gloves to her mother.

“Don’t be daft.” Mary said.

Cora gave Mary a look of disapproval. “Why should I be nervous darling?”

“Well, it is your first evening together with Papa, since the divorce.”

Cora smiled. “It is strange to go out together, but I am looking forward to it. I think your father and I are now at that point where we can be just friends.

Mary chuckled.

“Girls, thank you for helping me tonight.” Cora said ignoring Mary. “Is Sybil helping Papa?”

“She is, and they should be here any minute.” Edith said.

Soon after the doorbell rang, Mary went to open the door and Sybil and her father stepped inside, looking rather sharp in his tuxedo. His black tailcoat, black waist high trousers, stiff white evening shirt, white evening waistcoat and cufflinks made him look 10 years younger.

“Mama, is almost ready.” Mary said.

Cora walked towards him, eyeing him from top to bottom. “You look rather handsome.” She said.

“You don’t look bad yourself.” He answered and kissed her cheek. He touched her hair jewellery. “This is beautiful.” Robert offered Cora his arm and guided her to the car.

‘You gave me this hair piece on our 12,5 years anniversary.’ Mary heard her mother say

“Look at them.” She said to Edith.

“Some days I wonder, why they are divorced.” Edith said.

“I heard them yelling over the phone a couple days back, what reminded me why they are divorced.” Sybil said, closing the door behind her.

“I remember the regular fights, but I also remember the sweet moments between them. Papa can be so romantic. We can only hope our boyfriends are like Papa.” Mary said.

“Matthew, Bertie and Tom all have something from dad.” Edith said.

Mary gave her a strange look.

“I am using the wrong words.” Edith sighed. “They all have traits that Papa also has.”

Both her sisters nodded. “Who wants a cup of tea?” Mary said, walking into the kitchen.

“What channel will be the award ceremony?” Sybil asked.

“It will be a livestream, I linked my phone to Mama’s television, we should be able to watch the ceremony that way. 

Plaats een reactie