Is this love? Chapter 15

*I made a mistake by adding Anna already in the story. When I use the correct age difference between Robert and Anna, she should be 9. So I am not following the correct timeline, I am sorry.*

Robert was busy in the kitchen when he felt a hand on his shoulder. It was Anna.

“Which table do you want for Cora and Adeline?” She asked.

The fact she touched him on his shoulder meant she had already asked the question, but he hadn’t registered her talking to him. “I am sorry.” Robert started. “Well I just got a text from Cora.”

“Oh no, don’t tell me, she cancelled.” Anna said with a sad voice.

“No, she didn’t. But she is coming alone.”

“I have an idea, why don’t you let John handle the kitchen tonight, so you can have dinner with Cora?”

Robert’s face lit up. “I can still cook for her and join her. I will talk to John, thank you. Can you prepare the table closest to the kitchen?”

Anna walked away. Robert looked at her. He was grateful to have her, she was still very young, but she was perfect at her job. He chuckled, he himself wasn’t old, but still, Anna was quite young with her 21 years.

+++

Cora stepped out of her dress and threw it on her bed. She sat down with a sigh. She had nothing to wear and also nobody to help her make a choice. She looked at her watch, she really needed to make a decision. She glanced at her wardrobe, maybe she should wear a trouser suite. She immediately set that thought aside, it should be a dress. She got up and gave another look in her wardrobe. She spotted her dark blue knee length dress. The fabric was a little bit thicker, maybe a bit too warm in this season, but it gave her a sophisticated look. She pulled it out of the closet and tried it on. When she looked in the mirror she finally liked what she saw. She put on her velvet red high heels and put a red bag on her arm. She looked again and thought: ‘perfect’

She got in the tube and felt her nerves kicking in. Having dinner on her own was already scary and that in Robert’s restaurant.

She was almost at the restaurant when she realized she forgot the new menus. She didn’t have time to go back. She could slap herself. How stupid she was. He was counting on them. The website would go live tomorrow, he needed them.

+++

“Welcome at Le Grantham.” Cora got greeted by a host. She was expecting to see Anna, but maybe she had a free evening. “Do you have a reservation?”

“I think I have.” Cora answered unsure.

“Under what name?” The woman asked.

“Levinson.”

“I am sorry, I don’t have that name. Can it be a different one?”

Cora stuttered. “I, I don’t know.”

“I am sorry Ma’am. We are fully booked tonight. If you don’t have a reservation I can’t offer you a table.”

Cora looked into the restaurant. “Maybe you could tell Mr. Crawley I am here.”

“I am sorry, but knowing the owner will not help you to a table. We are fully booked.” The woman looked at the people behind Cora.

Quickly Cora stepped aside, to let them go in. After giving their name they were guided to their seats. Cora didn’t know what to do. Robert would not have his phone with him in the kitchen, or even if he did. He would be too busy. She turned around to walk outside again, when she heard her name. Her heart jumped, she recognised his voice immediately.

“Why aren’t you guiding Miss. Levinson to her table?” Robert asked the host with annoyance in his voice.

“I am sorry sir, but the restaurant is fully booked and there is no reservation for Miss. Levinson.”

“Of course there isn’t. I told you all, we had a special guest tonight. You never listen during the briefing that shows. Miss Levinson is our special guest, or better yet, she is my special guest.” Robert looked at Cora and offered her his arm. “Welcome, Miss Levinson.” He winked at her.

Cora took his arm, she didn’t dare to look at the host. Robert guided her towards the only free table in the restaurant, she felt everybody staring at her. She was happy when she noticed there was decoration between her table and the rest of the restaurant. She would not have to endure all those eyes looking at her, sitting alone at her table.

Robert pulled back her chair, and helped her push it back once she was seated. He sat down opposite of her. She raised her eyebrows. “I am keeping you from your work. Your guests are waiting.”

“You are my guest tonight. The rest of the restaurant are John’s guests.” He smiled, resting his hands on the table.

Cora reached over and touched his hand. “You didn’t have to do this. But thank you, although I would have loved to have dinner cooked by you.” She smiled at him.

“Your wish is my command.” He joked. “No, just kidding. I was already planning on cooking for you tonight. John and the crew will cook for all the guests, but I will prepare our dinner.”

Cora looked at the menu, then she looked up at Robert. “What dish is your favourite to make?”

“I enjoy many of the dishes, but maybe just a simple good beef steak is my favourite.”

“Then I want a beef steak.” She smiled again.

Robert felt butterflies in his stomach when Cora smiled at him.

+++

Dinner had been wonderful, Robert had loved cooking for Cora and eating it together. He had listened to her stories, he asked about her time in America and Cora had started and never stopped. He was glad to see her this happy. It broke his heart thinking of the pain she was carrying with her. Not only the abuse of Anthony, but also missing her mother and her late father. But once she started talking about her youth, he saw how much joy those memories brought her.

“I love listening to your stories. I have never been to the USA, but you are painting a lovely place.”

“There are some downsides, but I loved growing up there. But here I am at home.”

Robert smiled. “Before you go home, do you have the menu? I can’t wait to see them.”

Cora coloured. “I forgot them at home.”

Robert laughed out loud. “You are kidding?”

“I wish I was.” Cora looked at her hands in her lap. She felt so incredibly stupid.

“You know what. I will let John close the restaurant and we will pick them up at your home.”

“I don’t want to bother you with it. I will get them and bring them back.”

“Don’t be silly. We will go together. That way I know you are safe back home, and we can drink our coffee at your place.” Robert got up before Cora could protest, when he returned he had his own jacket on, and Cora’s in his hands. He was holding it up for Cora.

+++

Right now I am on a holiday. I will try to write daily, but I don’t know how realistic that is. I will do my best, but can’t promise a daily chapter for the coming two weeks.

Plaats een reactie