Is this love? Chapter 24

Cora woke up, and she realized her head wasn’t pounding anymore. There was more air coming in through her nose. She felt better, her fever had finally gone after a couple of days. She didn’t remember much of them, besides that she slept a lot.

The day her sickness started, Robert had been unexpectedly in her home. She smiled thinking of his words. ‘I am head over heels in love with you.’

Cora closed her eyes again and stretched her body. She turned around and bumped into someone. She opened her eyes again and was looking at the sleeping figure of a man. She recognised the curling of his hair and she thought he needed a hair cut. She scooted closer, and rested her hand against his back.

It was a lovely surprise to find him in her bed, although she didn’t remember him getting in with her. It didn’t matter, she loved waking up next to Robert already. Strange how different this felt compared to Anthony.

Her fingers were trailing his back up and down, which woke him up. He turned around, Cora’s hand moved to his chest and he took her hand in his. Placing a soft kiss on the back of her hand.

“Good morning.” He said with a raspy sleepy voice. “Are you feeling better?”

Cora scooted a little closer so her head rested on his upper arm. “A lot better. I think my fever is gone.” She tiled her head so she looked up at Robert.

Robert kissed the top of her nose. “That is a relief. You scared me last night. You were having really bad dreams and your temperature kept rising.

“It was a surprise waking up next to you.” Cora said.

Robert jerked up. “Oh no, I am sorry. I should not have slept here.” Robert was trying to get out of bed.

Cora grabbed his arm. “Where are you going? I only said it was a surprise. And I meant it was a nice surprise.” She got up a little and leaned over to his side. “Come back to bed please?” She pleaded, rubbing her thumb over his arm. The hairs on his arm felt soft.

Robert looked at her. “Are you sure?”

“As sure as I am laying here. I need to thank you for taking care of me.”

Robert got a cheeky smile on his face. “Do you have the energy for that?”

Cora’s eyes grew big and a blush appeared on her cheeks. “Not in that way!” She exclaimed.

Robert crawled back in bed and scooped Cora in his arms again. “I will redeem that thank you later.” He winked.

Cora chuckled. “You bet.” She relaxed her body and said in a soft voice. “Is it alright to just lay here and sleep some more?”

Robert pressed his nose in Cora’s hair and murmured. “More than alright.” Before he finished his sentence he heard the soft snores of Cora.

+++

Robert had gone out of bed as soon as Cora was fast asleep. He watched some tv, then he made breakfast and brought it upstairs. He sat down next to Cora, watching her for a while. Her chest was slowly rising and falling. Her face was all relaxed, he loved her snores, he thought they were incredibly cute. He couldn’t resist and followed her jawline with his finger, he woke Cora up. His finger moved to her lips, softly moving his thumb from left to right. Cora pressed a kiss on his thumb.

“Did you sleep well?” He asked.

“I did.” Cora looked at the clock. “11.00 o’clock already!” She shot up.

Robert smiled at her and softly placed his hands on her shoulders. “Where is the rush?” He asked, still smiling at her.

“I can’t be still in bed at this time of the day.”

Robert chuckled. “You spend the last three days in bed, so these hours will not make a difference. I made you breakfast.”

He put a small table over her lap with a plate filled with buttered toast, fried eggs and bacon.

Cora gave him a warm smile. “You took such good care of me.” She took a bite of the bacon.

“Everything for my princess.” He took her chin in his hand. “Now, am I allowed to kiss you?”

Cora chuckled and leaned forward, as far as the small table allowed.

Robert felt her soft warm lips against his. She tasted like the bacon she just ate. He moved his tongue and she granted him access. He discovered her mouth, her tongue against his. He felt her hunger for him. Her hands were playing with his hair.

When they broke the connection she chuckled. “You need a hair cut.”

Robert looked at her in surprise. “So, that is what you are thinking of when you kiss me?”

Cora smiled. Robert loved her smile, her whole face lit up and there was a sparkle in her eyes that he had never seen in anyone’s eyes before. “Yes, and it is a pity that my breakfast is cooling down.”

Robert laughed out loud, kissed her very briefly and said. “I will not keep you from your food, Milady.”

Cora chuckled and leaned in to kiss him again, when the doorbell rang.

“Are you expecting somebody?” Robert asked.

“No, not that I know off.” Cora looked down at her nightwear. “Can you go?”

Robert got up. “Enjoy your breakfast. I will have a look.”

He walked down and opened the front door. There was a man standing with a box of chocolates in his hands, he was vaguely familiar. Robert gave him a surprised look. “Can I help you?” He asked.

“I should ask that question to you.” The man answered. “Who are you and what are you doing in this house?”

Robert heard an undertone he didn’t like and it clicked instantly, this was Anthony. He made himself a little bigger and closed the door a bit more. “Cora doesn’t want to see you and you are not allowed to be here.”

The eyes of the man narrowed. “Who are you to tell me where I can be or not!”

“It doesn’t matter who I am, there is a court order and you aren’t allowed to be here! Leave or I will call the police.”

“I will be back, mark my words. That court order will end one day!” Anthony said.

Robert closed the door, his heart was pounding in his chest and he needed a minute to compose himself. The nerve that guy had.

“Who was it?”

Robert got spooked by Cora’s question. She was standing in the hallway, with the breakfast tray in her hands.

“Anthony.” Robert said.

Cora almost dropped the tray. “What did he want?” She asked.

“I think he had another peace offer, but now he is outraged because of me.”

“Oh no. If he finds out who you are, and he will! You will not be safe.”

Robert stepped towards Cora. That’s why you need to call the police and report he has been coming here recently and breaking the restraining order. You can’t let him get away with it.”

He saw Cora straighten her back. “You are right. It’s done, he doesn’t have any power over me!” 

Plaats een reactie