Is this love? Chapter 29

Robert fixed his tie. He saw Cora coming closer in the corner of his eye. She was wearing a long black dress with a shawl on her shoulders. She stroke with her hands over his jacket and kissed him on his cheek.

“Are you ready?” She asked.

Robert hummed. Not being able to speak. How could he be ready for his dad’s funeral. He was only 30 years old, he shouldn’t he burying his father. He felt Cora’s hand resting on his chest, on the place where his heart was beating. She didn’t say anything, she just stood there giving him comfort.

He sighed and put his hand on top of Cora’s and murmured a thank you. Still not able to form a word without starting to cry.

Cora kissed him on his cheek again. “It’s alright. We should go.” She slid her hand in his and guided him towards the car.

They had slept in his old house, it had been easier. His family home was outside of London and it would have been a hustle being on time. Violet had been to upset to complain, Cora also slept here. Rosamund had advised them to sleep in separate rooms, because she would start after the funeral.

The church service was beautiful and a lot of nice words were said about Patrick. It was very clear he was a well loved person in the community. Robert had managed to say a few words and it resulted in Violet nodding approvingly.

After the service, the family went home. Cora had said she shouldn’t be there, but both Rosamund and Robert had asked her to stay.

“Patrick loved Judith, a shame she wasn’t at the funeral.” Violet started, once they were sitting in the living room, drinking a cup of tea.

“Mother!” Rosamund exclaimed, perfectly knowing what her mother was doing.

“It’s the truth and you all know it. He didn’t even know Cora.”

Cora’s cheeks coloured bright red and Robert took her hand in his.

“It’s a shame, Papa never got the change to meet with Cora. He would have lover her, the same way I do.”

He felt Cora squeeze his hand.

“I still don’t understand why she needed to be there.” Violet continued.

“Because she and Robert are in a relationship. Mother this isn’t the day to pick fight, papa would not have wanted that.” She looked at Robert who was visibly getting angry. “Why don’t you take Cora for a walk, I think she would love to see the gardens?”

Cora got the hint and got up. “Rosamund is right, from what I saw already they look amazing.”

Robert got up on silence and walked out of the living room with Cora in his heels.

+++

Once outside Cora put her arm in Robert’s and they started walking. Robert remained silent for a long time. Cora slowly moved her fingers over Robert’s arm, when she noticed he was crying. He turned his face away.

“Robert.” Cora stopped walking and turned towards Robert. “It is alright to cry.” She looked up and saw a tear run down his cheek. Softly she brushed it of his cheek. Then she put her arms around him and pulled him close. Rubbing his back in a slow movement. Robert let go of his tears, something he never did, but Cora’s arms around him, made him loose control.

“Oh Cora.” He started once he was able to speak again. “I wish my mother changed her views, once she had seen you and oh how I wish my father had met you. He would have loved you.”

Cora had started walking again, she was silent next to him. He looked down at her, she was a tall woman, but because of his own length, she needed to look up at him. He was a lucky man, with her next to him.

The moment he had that thought, she looked up at him. Her blue eyes full with compassion. “What else is troubling you?” She asked.

Robert sighed, they knew each other for 3, almost 4 months now and she was reading him so well. “With my father’s dead, there is now a big responsibility on my shoulders and I am not sure if I can keep the restaurant.”

Cora gasped. “But that’s where your hearth is. You love your work in the restaurant.”

“I know, but I think you already noticed. Molesley called me a lord.”

Cora nodded.

“Our title is Grantham.” Robert continued.

“Now I get why the restaurant is called ‘Le Grantham’ and not Crawley.” Cora interrupted.

Robert chuckled. “That is indeed as a reference.” He took a deep breath. “There is an estate attached to the title. Called Downton Abbey. Nearby is a small hospital, my father was head of the board. Officially that title now belongs to my mother, but she wants me to take it upon me. Or better yet, she had hoped Judith would become the next head of board. But we know how that ended.”

“Who is living at that estate?” Cora asked, trying to process everything Robert had told her.

“We have people who maintain the house and estate. In exchange, they are allowed to live in the house. Mother never agreed with the move out of the house, but my father loved living close to London. Mainly because he knew of my wish to open a restaurant and Rosamund’s longing to be in the city.”

“Let me guess, your mother wants to move back to Downton?”

Robert sighed again. “She is indeed counting on me to move back. But I can’t. I can not give up my restaurant. I don’t know how I will manage the hospital and my restaurant, but I don’t want to give up on this passion.”

“You should not have to make that decision. That is not fair on you.”

“Our world isn’t always fair, Cora. We have our duties.”

Now it was Cora who sighed. “I don’t understand how the nobility works here in England. But can’t you open the position as head of board?”

Robert chuckled. “You indeed have a lot to learn.” He pulled her close and placed a kiss on the tip of her nose. “But that’s for another day.” He took a deep breath. “Let’s focus on the here and now.”

“You have to tell me how it works.”

“I will, but not today.”

Plaats een reactie