Is this love? Chapter 32

“Why haven’t I seen Cora in weeks?” Rosamund asked while pouring in the tea.

Robert took the cup from her and shrugged his shoulders. “How is Marmaduke doing?”

Rosamund’s face clouded. Marmaduke was in a lot of pain recently and the doctors couldn’t find the problem. It scared Rosamund to the bone.

Robert pulled her close. “He will be alright, they will find what is wrong with him.” He said.

“What if it is…….”

“No, don’t say that. We have to keep positive.” Robert cupped her cheek.

“I am too young to be a widow. We still have so many plans.”

Robert didn’t know what to answer, he was also worried about Marmaduke’s health. He held Rosamund a little longer to his chest and then let her go. “What is your opinion about the hospital?” He asked, changing the subject.

Rosamund shook her head. “I don’t know. Mama can’t expect you to give up your restaurant.”

“It looks like she is expecting that. For now John is managing the restaurant. But I don’t want to give up on my dream.”

“What does Cora say about it?” Rosamund asked.

“Does it matter what she thinks? He has nothing to do with this.” Robert said annoyed.

Rosamund raised her eyebrows, I thought you two were in a relationship?”

Rosamund looked at Robert, who shrugged his shoulders again. Why wasn’t he talking about Cora? What happened?

+++

Andrew walked towards Cora’s desk. She behaved differently these last weeks and he was worried. He pulled up a chair and sat next to her.

When Cora finally looked up from her work and acknowledged him he said. “I know I am only your boss, but I am worried about you.” He put his hand on Cora’s arm.

Cora felt tears stinging in her eyes, but she managed to control them. “There is nothing you should be worried about. I finish all my work on time.”

“You know I am not talking about your work!” Andrew said with a frown.

Cora swallowed and looked down at her hands. She let them rest in her lap. “Anthony isn’t back in my life. He is in a mental health hospital right now.”

“And Robert?” Andrew knew perfectly well there was something wrong between them. She wasn’t talking about him anymore.

“He is busy, as I am. He helped me and I am grateful for that, but now we both need to go on with our own lives.” Cora tried to believe her own words. She missed Robert, she didn’t know what she did wrong, but he was so distant. She gave up trying to get him to open up. She hadn’t been at his house since that morning she danced with him in his kitchen.

Andrew looked at her. “You know where to find me if you need anything.” He got up and walked out of her office. The same second Rosamund walked in.

“Rosamund?” Cora’s voice got a higher pitch out of surprise.

“I miss you and if it is up to Robert and yourself, we will never see each other again.” Rosamund said, closing the door behind her.

Cora coloured, she knew Rosamund was right and she missed her too.

“What happened between you and Robert? Robert doesn’t want to tell me.”

“I can’t tell you.” Cora started.

“Come on Cora. You know you can trust me.” Rosamund interrupted.

“It is not that.” Cora lowered her eyes. “I don’t know what happened. Robert changed after your father’s death and after the evening when Anthony broke into his home, he has been distant. He doesn’t respond to my calls or messages. I gave up trying.”

“My brother is so incredibly stupid sometimes. I think I know what is happening.”

Cora sat up a bit straighter. “You do?” She said hopeful. She desperately wanted to know why Robert was pushing her away.

“He is listening to mother and he is stressed out by the hospital duties he has now.”

Cora sighed. “Your mother doesn’t like me.”

“Mother likes nobody.”

“She liked Judith.” Cora said with a soft voice.

“Judith is the daughter of one of her best friends. Of course she likes her, she could control that woman. She can’t control you.”

Cora blushed, Violet would indeed not be able to control her. “What do you want me to do? Robert isn’t answering any of my attempts to get in contact.”

“You booked that Whiskey tasting for next week right?”

“For his birthday indeed.”

“What if I take him there and you will be waiting inside?”

“He will walk out, I just know he will. No, you can go with him, but I will not be there.”

Rosamund sighed. “Maybe you are right, he will probably not stay.”

“Why don’t I give the reservation to Marmaduke, he can take Robert there. I bet Marmaduke also likes Whiskey.”

Rosamund’s face clouded for a second. “He does.” She said softly.

Cora put her hand on Rosamund’s arm. “Is there something wrong?” She saw the clouds on Rosamund’s face, and although she only knew her for a couple of months now, she felt something was troubling her.

“Marmaduke might be sick.” Rosamund said with a voice full of tears.

“What?” Cora saw tears running over Rosamund’s cheeks. She pulled her close and held her firm until her crying settled down.

“The doctor’s don’t know what is wrong, but I just know it is something bad. Something really bad.”

“Try to stay positive. As long as the doctor’s aren’t worried.”

Rosamund interrupted. “That is the thing, they are worried. I can see it on their faces, but they can’t find what is wrong. And I can see Marmaduke getting worse everyday. He doesn’t have an appetite and is tired all the time.”

“I am truly sorry to hear this. You shouldn’t be here, trying to get Robert and me back together. You should be with Marmaduke.”

“He doesn’t need my worrying surrounding him the whole day and I can use some things to keep my mind distracted.” Rosamund winked.

 

Plaats een reactie