When life interrupts, chapter 17

Robert was sitting in Cora’s living room. She had gone up soon after dinner. His parents stayed for a while, but he had asked them to leave just before dinner. He didn’t want to stress Cora more than she already was. His mother had ignored her in a way that he didn’t like. Luckily his father had talked with Cora about her interests.

Was he supposed to stay another night, or should he go home? He didn’t know what to do. Cora had not said much during dinner. He saw a lot was going on in her head, he wished she would talk. He emptied his glass and walked upstairs. He found her in bed.

For a second Robert stood still, not sure if he was doing the right thing. He stepped closer to Cora and kissed her cheek. “Sleep tight, see you tomorrow.” He felt her hand on his and her voice sounded.

“Do you need to go?”

It confused him, during dinner it seemed she didn’t care he was here, but now she was asking him to stay. What was he supposed to do?

“I think it is better if I go home.” He felt instant guilt leaving Cora alone to take care of Patrick, but he needed time to think and sort things out.

Cora pulled her hand back and folded it under her pillow again. “Oke.”

Robert kissed her temple and left, leaving Cora now also confused.

Cora heard the front door close and let out a deep sigh. Did she push Robert out? She had not said much during dinner. She did not know where to start. The way Violet had reacted to her, was exactly what she was expecting. Even though it had hurt her, she knew she was not good enough for Robert. He came from a rich family and probably had a title to pass on. She wasn’t the spouse, Violet had in mind for him, even though her family was wealthy to.

She let out a deep sigh and tried to fall asleep, she needed her rest. Patrick would come soon for his feeding. How she wished she and Robert talked better. How was this going to work out? She loved him, she truly did, but they had been separated for months and now all of a sudden he was back. How was she supposed to deal with that?

Finally, after what felt like hours she fell asleep, to be woken up soon after, by Patrick’s hungry cries.

Exhausted she pulled herself out of bed and walked to his room. Picked her little one up and offered him her breast.

+++

“Robert? I was just about to call you.” Rosamund said through the phone.

“Well, then let me hear what you have to tell first.” He answered.

“Marmaduke asked me to marry him,” Rosamund said and Robert could hear her smile through the phone.

“What wonderful news, that is amazing Rosamund,” Robert exclaimed. “I was waiting for this day.”

“I can hardly believe it. I am so incredibly happy with him.”

“And I am happy for you.” Robert tried to sound as enthusiastic as he could, but it was hard with his worry about him and Cora.

“But you called to tell me something. How is Cora doing? Did she let you in the delivery room? I didn’t hear you after our last call. Is the baby healthy? Are you really the father?” Rosamund said enthusiastically.

Robert sighed, he loved his sister, but she was so different than he was. “She let me in and I witness the birth and I can congratulate you, you are an aunt and have a nephew.”

On the other side of the line, it stayed silent for a second, then Rosamund said:, “That is wonderful, is everything alright?”

“I have been with Cora during the birth, it was wonderful and horrifying at the same time. She gave birth to a beautiful baby boy, we named him Patrick Isidor, after both of our fathers. And yes, I am convinced I am the father. Patrick is now four days old, and I have been with her, until two days ago. Mama and Papa visited and well, that did not go as I had wanted.”

“Oh no.” Rosamund said softly.

“Mama treated Cora horribly. Luckily Papa could repair some of the damage, but it left Cora feeling very down. And now I am not sure what to do.”

“Robert, why did you leave? Don’t tell me you left Cora in this state alone?”

Robert was already feeling bad, and now he felt horrible. He should have stayed, Cora even asked him to stay, but he had left. He had acted out of selfishness. “I did.” He said very softly.

“Well, I want to meet her, so why don’t we go together to her? I can watch Patrick while you talk with Cora.”

“Rosamund, I can’t show up with you on her doorstep. Not after Mama. And besides that, her mother arrives today.”

“We are going right now. I am picking you up. You need to fix this before her mother is here. Robert, you made an even bigger mess than it already was.”

+++

Robert rang the doorbell, but there was no reaction. “Maybe she isn’t home.” He said.

“I hear a baby crying, so she is definitely home. Do you have a key?”

Robert raised his eyebrows. “Of course I do not have a key.”

Rosamund rang the bell again and then proceeded to bang on the front door. Finally, the door was opened and Robert saw a very pale skinned Cora, with a hysterically crying Patrick in her arms. When she saw Robert she started crying. “Why did you leave?” She sobbed. “I can’t do this. I am not a good mother.”

Robert closed the gap between them and wrapped his arms around her. He put his hand on the back of her head and made sussing sounds. Patrick cried even harder and Robert stepped back. He wasn’t sure what to do, Cora was visibly exhausted.

“Hello Cora.” Rosamund’s voice sounded and she stepped closer. “I am sorry we meet like this. I am Robert sister, can I help with something.”

Through her tears, Cora stared at Rosamund. She shrugged her shoulders. “I don’t know. I am sorry for my state.” She brushed her tears away.

“Let me take Patrick for a while.” She suggested and to her surprise, handed Cora the little boy to her. She felt him settle down immediately and realised Patrick was reacting to Cora’s stress level. “Did you sleep at all the last two days?” She asked.

Cora shook her head. “Not much.”

“Robert, why don’t you bring Cora upstairs? I will take care of Patrick. Do you have any formula for when he gets hungry?”

“There is breastmilk in the fridge and freezer. Thank you.” Cora willingly let Robert guide her upstairs. Patrick was for the first time in two days, calm and she trusted Rosamund with him. Suddenly she stopped walking. “I can’t go to sleep. My mother is coming.” She turned towards Robert, who had put his arm around her shoulders.

“What time is she coming?” Rosamund asked.

“Her flight will land around 18.00 o’clock.” Cora answered.

Rosamund looked at her watch “Robert can pick her up. You need sleep. It is now 11.00 o’clock, so you can easily get 7 hours.” Rosamund saw the shock on Cora’s face. “Your mother will be alright with Robert picking her up, and he will be alright too, she can’t be worse than our mother.” She gave Robert a stern look.

“Come, I will stay with you until you are asleep.” Robert said pulling Cora a little bit closer and walking towards the stairs.

 

Plaats een reactie