The truth always comes out, chapter 23

Cora had gone downstairs when she saw Rosamund going into the room where Robert had slept. She walked towards the kitchen and was greeted by Rosamund’s cook, Agnes.

“Good morning, Milady, can I make you some breakfast?”

Cora was famished, she noticed. “Some fried eggs and beans on toast, please. Is there orange juice?” She had to chuckle. She was turning into a real British woman, but her American blood would always be there too, hence the orange juice.

“I will make some juice. In the meantime, there is tea and coffee in the breakfast room.” Agnes said.

“Thank you, Agnes.”

Cora poured herself a big mug of tea. She knew it was not proper to drink out of a mug, especially not during breakfast, but she did not care. She wrapped her fingers around the warm mug and sat down at the table. Soon after, Agnes walked in.

“Thank you. Agnes.” Cora waited for her to leave the room before she started her breakfast. It was delicious, she loved Mrs. Patmore’s cooking, but Agnes was as good as her.

“I added some tomatoes, Milady. You can use all the vitamins you can get.”

She brought her plate back to the kitchen, thanked Agnes, and went towards the stairs. She would love to go to the drawing room and read a book. But she knew she would not be able to focus on it, and she did not want to take the risk that Robert would walk in. Slowly, she climbed the stairs. She felt her lungs rumble with every step and breath she took. The percussion session of yesterday had made the mucus loosen up, but her lungs were far from clear.

A door opened, and Rosamund appeared at the top of the stairs. “Cora, are you alright?”

Although her coughing was taking over, she tried to nod.

“Maybe it is me, but your cough sounds different.”

Cora needed a minute to catch her breath before she could answer. “It is not just you. They feel different.”

“I could do another percussion session?” Robert appeared next to Rosamund.

Cora sighed. He was the one she did not want to see right now. “I am alright, thank you.” She said softly.

Robert stepped closer. “I will not ask anything else; I only want to help. It feels that this is the only way to get your lungs functioning normally again.”

“I am afraid Robert is right. It will help and you know that.” Rosamund said.

Cora had to admit, it would be nice to get the last gunk out of her lungs. The air she was getting in since yesterday was a nice feeling. She gave in.

+++

“Where are mum and dad?” Mary asked when Sybil and Edith stepped inside.

They shared a look before Sybil answered. “Mama needs a little bit more time before she can travel back home.

As true to Mary’s nature, she did not notice the anxious look on Edith’s and Sybil’s face. “Is she still poorly? That pneumonia was a heavy one.”

“Her lungs are finally improving, but she is still feeling the aftermath of the pneumonia. It was a good one she got. I am still amazed she did not end up in the hospital.”

Edith shivered. “I hope to never see her like that again. It was horrible seeing her fight for every breath and the blood.” She pulled a face.

“Let’s hope Mama will recover fully soon and indeed will never get a pneumonia that bad.” Sybil padded Edith’s arm.

“I hope she will come back soon. We have an event in two weeks, and I can use her advice.” Mary said.

“There is something that is called a phone.” Edith bitched. “You could call her.”

Mary gave a nasty look and walked away.

“Tom, do you want some tea?” Edith asked, turning around towards Tom, who was standing in the doorway.

+++

“I have to go; I will miss the train and it is the last one for today.” Robert helped Cora with the percussion, and it seemed she was able to get everything loose and out. He hoped the mucus would not build up again. He looked at Rosamund, who was standing next to him. “Please take good care of her.” He made a notion with his head upstairs. Cora had fallen asleep as soon as they were done, and she was still in her bedroom.

“Oh, Robert. You know I will. She can stay here as long as she needs to. But she will have to go back to Downton to arrange everything.”

Robert’s shoulders lowered. “I do not know how I will go on without her. Downton without Cora is empty.”

“You will find your way. Your girls will be with you.” Rosamund said, encouraging.

Robert raised his eyebrows. “Do you really think they will choose me?”

“I am positive that they will not choose, but they will stay at Downton. That is their home and who knows what Cora will find to live.”

Robert sighed. “I should help her with that.”

Rosamund softly pushed Robert out the door. “You should go and catch your train.”

+++

Just before dinner, Cora walked downstairs. She did not know if Robert would be there or that he had left. She did not know what to hope for. Her heart was aching for him already, and she hated that feeling. Was she too harsh? Should she reconsider. With a deep sigh, she opened the door to the dinner area.

“Your lungs sound wonderful.” Rosamund greeted Cora.

Cora looked around, but besides Mead, there was nobody else in the room. Robert had gone back home. “It is the first time in weeks that they do not rumble indeed.”

“You finally gave up on smoking.” Rosamund joked.

“I did sound like a heavy smoker.” Cora agreed and smiled.

+++

Rosamund handed Cora a mug filled with tea.

Cora lifted her eyebrows. “A mug?”

“You like drinking your tea out of a mug, do you not?”

“I do, but never expected to get that from you.”

“I am less posh than you think.” Rosamund winked. “I have to go away for a couple of days. Do you think you are all right on your own here?”

“I can go to a hotel if you want me to?” Cora said.

“Do not be silly. You can stay here. I only wanted to know if you would be alright.”

Cora looked at her feet. “It will take a while before I will be alright again. But I am capable of being on my own here.” She answered. “Although I should go to Downton, Robert and I need to talk to the girls. They need to know.”

“Give yourself and Robert a couple of days before telling them.”

“You think Robert will not tell them?” Cora played with her wedding ring. “He is not very good at dealing with his emotions and tends to drink them away. The girls will notice.”

Rosamund leaned forward and took Cora’s hands in hers. “They already know something is wrong. A couple of more day’s waiting will not hurt them anymore.”

Cora felt a tear escape her eye. “I only hope Sybil is not taking the blame. She thinks Tom and she are the reason why Robert is behaving like he is.”

Rosamund wiped the tear away. “You raised three strong girls. They will survive this.”

I hope Robert will survive this, Cora thought. She was not so sure about how she was going to manage the pain herself.

Plaats een reactie