The truth always comes out, chapter 41

Cora walked towards the village. She was not sure what the people would think or maybe even say. Since the divorce she had not been into the village, except for the train station. Would she be able to have a normal dinner at the pub?

Gathering all her courage, she walked into the pub, it was quiet inside, only a couple of local people, she recognized. She greeted them and walked over to the bar. “Molesley?” She said surprised. “I did not know you worked here.”

“Good evening, Milady. How wonderful to see you again. This is only temporary, I hope. I hope to find a house where I can work again, soon. But for now, I am happy with this job. How can I help you?”

“Do you have a table for one, a little bit in the back?” She knew Molesley would not ask any questions, and he indeed guided her towards the back of the pub.

Joseph pulled a curtain aside. “This area will not be used tonight. If you want, you can eat here.”

Cora gave him a warm smile. “Thank you so much.” She walked over to one of the tables and sat down, taking the menu that Molesley handed her.

“I will come to take your order later; you do not have to come to the bar.”

This was a relief to Cora, in this pub she knew people ordered at the bar, but it was good she did not need to show her face anymore then she already did. There would be talk in the village after tonight. Everybody knew they were divorced, but her being back was food for gossip. “Molesley?” Cora said, when he wanted to walk away. “Is there a room available for tonight?”

“I have to look in the book Milady, I will let you know.”

+++

Molesley came towards her table. “I hope everything was to your liking?”

“Oh, more than that. It was delicious. It truly was.”

“Thank you. Your room is ready upstairs, if you want, I can show you via the backdoor the way upstairs. It is normally the route the cleaning ladies take, but this way you can go up without being disturbed.”

Cora was grateful she had encountered Molesley tonight. He had always been good for the family, she felt sorry that he was not working for them anymore. He would be a wonderful addition to the household. But she knew Robert did not need more staff, especially not now he was alone. With a sigh she followed Molesley. Had she made the right decision to not sleep at Downton?

“Here is your key, just ring downstairs when there is anything you need, Milady.” Molesley handed her the key and left her alone.

Cora walked inside the room. It was a small but nice room. She put her bag next to the bed and sat down on the only chair in the room. Would she be able to sleep tonight?

+++

Robert looked at the liquor cabinet. He would love a drink, to celebrate the birth of Sybbie. But he withholds himself from it. Instead, he rang for Carson. “Can you bring up some tea, please.” He said, when Carson walked in the drawing room.

“Of course, Milord”

Robert sat down in front of the fireplace, waiting for Carson to return with the tea. A cold draft made him look up, and he thought he was dreaming. In the doorway there was Cora. He shook his head and closed his eyes. When he looked up again, he suspected the door to be closed. He was hallucinating. But when he opened his eyes again and looked at the door, Cora was still there. Quickly he got up and stepped towards the door. “Come in, please come in. Excuse me for my behaviour, I thought I was seeing things.”

“It is alright. I did not announce myself. But.” She stopped and now looked down herself. “It did not feel right to sleep at the pub. Can I stay here at Downton?

At that moment Carson appeared in the drawing room. “Milady, I did not hear the doorbell, my apologies.”

“That is alright, I arrived at the same time as Thomas. I did not ring the bell, he let me in.”

Carson grinded his teeth, Thomas was pushing his luck recently. Entering via the front door was not behold towards the staff members. He would tell him that later. “I only have one cup for the tea, I will bring you another one directly.”

Cora had walked inside and got closer to the fireplace. She had always loved spending the evening here. When they were younger together with their girls all wrapped up in the pyjamas and robes. Listening to the stories Robert was telling them. “I hope you do not mind, me being here.”

Robert’s eyes grew big. How could he mind. This was what he was longing for, Cora back at Downton. And this was a first step towards healing, he thought. “I offered you a room earlier tonight. Did you have dinner?”

“I did. Molesley took care of me tonight. He is working in the local pub.” Cora said.

“Please do not tell me, you want me to offer him a job. I do not have anything for him.” Robert said defensive.

“I did not ask you anything, did I?” Cora did not want to bicker with Robert, not tonight. Not after this wonderful day. She felt a smile move around her mouth thinking of Sybil and Tom with their little one. How would they be doing? She thought. The first days with a newborn were always nerve wracking.

“Mrs. Hughes prepared a guest bedroom for you, Milady. I will show you with one, when you go up.” Carson said, while handing her a cup filled with tea.

“A guest bedroom? Cora you can sleep in your own room. It is still your room.”

Cora shook her head; she did not want to sleep in that room. To many memories and she was not the lady of the house anymore. She should not sleep there. “I am perfectly happy in one of the guest bedrooms” She quickly emptied her cup. “I will see you in the morning. Good night.”

Robert stared at the place she had just been standing. It still felt like a dream. Was she truly here, was she going to stay the whole night? He would not get a minute of sleep, he knew already. Having Cora this close, but not being able to wrap her in his arms, would be torture. But he was more than willing to undergo that torture. He needed Cora in his life, although it would be like it was now. No physical thought when not needed, but it did not matter. She was close to him. He smelled her sent lingering in the air.

Plaats een reactie