But Papa! Why? Chapter 12

Robert got out of the car, he reached in to pick up the container. He had gone home directly after he had seen that the advert was perfect. His chicken broth needed at least 3 hours on the stove. It was now just after 19.00 o’clock. He hoped Cora had not eaten yet, other wise she could eat it tomorrow.

Before he walked up to the building he paused. Was he going to do this? What if Cora rejected him right on the spot? He was not even sure why he was here and what he hoped for. He would love to know Cora better. He had seen that she was a very smart woman and a hard worker. Something he appreciated in women. She also knew how to show respect and how to behave in public. How she managed to get that deal with Sky Garden was still a wonder to him. And besides all that, she was the most beautiful person he had ever seen. Her chestnut brown curls and blue eyes made him go weak when he looked at her.

He walked towards the elevator, but was stopped by the concierge. “Where are you going sir?”

Robert turned around, he had not even seen that man. He remembered him being there when Cora took Rosamund and him to her apartment. “I am here for Miss Levinson.”

“What is your name?”

“I am Robert Crawley.” He answered.

“Is Miss Levinson expecting you?”

Now Robert was getting annoyed, why was this man stopping him? “No, she doe not know I am coming. But we work together. Miss Levinson works in my office.”

The concierge raised his eyebrows.

“She works for ‘Crawley Advertisements’.” Robert paused and took out his phone. “If it makes you happy, I will call her right now to announce that I am coming up.”

“I guess it is alright. You can go up.”

When Robert finally stood in front of Cora’s apartment door his heart started racing. What if Cora would be mad he was there? Well whatever her reaction would be, he was here now and would take the change of being rejected.

It took a while before the door was opened. He looked into two watery eyes. Cora was wrapped up in a big fluffy bathrobe that she closed high up her chest with her hand, and in the other hand, she clutched a handkerchief. Her cheeks and nose were even redder than when he saw her this morning. The skin between her mouth and nose was shaded red, probably from blowing her nose.

“Robert?” Cora rasped.

“I…. I…..” Robert stuttered, he held up the container in his hands. “I made you some chicken broth.”

Cora only looked at him.

“I figured, that you would be alone, without anybody to cook a meal for you. When you are sick it is important to get healthy food inside your body. And well, as I now also can see, you are in no state to cook a meal yourself.”

Without saying anything Cora stepped back and gestured to Robert that he should come inside.

“Do you want me to heat some of it now for you?”

“Thank you. Is it alright when I sit back down again?” Cora’s sad weakly.

Robert walked to the kitchen and searched for a pan he could use. What a turn of events, he thought. How did they go from hating each other to him standing in her kitchen making her dinner? He was not complaining, he loved this development.

He found Cora curled up on the sofa, with a blanket covering her. She looked up when he stopped before her with a cup filled with soup. “I hope you like it.”

“Did you make it yourself?” Cora asked with a nasal voice due to her blocked nose.

“I did.” Robert saw the surprised look on her face. “I know, not something you would expect from me, but I love to cook.”

Cora brought the spoon to her mouth. “My taste is weird at the moment, but I can tell this is very good. Thank you.”

“I am pleased you like it. There is enough for the coming days, I put it in your fridge.” He sat down on the other side of the sofa.

“That is kind of you. You did not have to do this.”

“It is nothing. Oh before I forget. I have to compliment you. The advert you made is outstanding. Even Mama complimented your work.” Robert coloured when he realised he had said Mama, instead of Violet.

“That is a first, I think, that she said something nice about me.” Cora started to laugh.

Robert gave her a worried look when her laugh turned into coughing. When he noticed she could not catch her breath, he moved closer to pat her back. “You should be in bed.” He said once Cora stopped coughing.

“I have to finish your soup.” She reached for the cup that Robert took from her.

Now Robert laughed. “You still have an appetite, that is a good sign.”

They were silent while Cora finished her soup.

“Is there anything you need?” Robert asked.

“I need this cold to go away.” She sniffed.

“Anything else ma’am?” Robert joked. “Is there enough food in your fridge?”

“I was planning on going grocery shopping tomorrow, but I will order online.”

“Do not be daft, make a list and I will get it for you.”

“Do you have time for that?” Cora asked surprised.

“I will make time. That is why you have friends.” Robert felt his cheeks burn when he saw the look on Cora’s face.

“Are we friends?” She asked.

“Cora.” Robert took her hand in his. He noticed how warm her skin was. “I have to apologise for the way I welcomed you into the company and how I treated you. I do not have a good explanation for my behaviour.”

Cora’s blue eyes stared into his. “It was not very welcoming, no.”

Robert lowered his eyes. “I behaved incredibly badly and I cannot apologise enough for that. You have shown me today, that you are more than just a pretty face.”

“Miss Pretty, is it not?”

Robert pulled his hand back and wanted to sink into the ground. He felt ashamed.

Cora leaned against him and took his hand back in hers. “It is alright. I think I can forgive you.” She padded his hand. “If you do not mind, I am sending you home. I am tired and need to go to bed.”

“I will clean up in the kitchen for you and will let myself out afterwards.” He watched how Cora walked towards her bedroom and disappeared behind the door.

Robert put the dishes in the dishwasher and cleaned the countertop. He then made some tea with a good scoop of honey. Walking towards Cora’s bedroom, he heard her sneezing. She was still awake. He found her already in bed.

“I made you some tea. Get some rest, I will come back tomorrow morning for your shopping list.”

Cora’s eyes closed, and she nodded. “Thank you”

Robert let himself out, he had a weird feeling. Had they just started something? A friendship maybe?

Plaats een reactie