Drabble – Wedding coat.

“Darling, do not let this upset you. You did not mean to be harsh towards Mrs Hughes. You just did not know and also just came back from that horrible meeting.” Robert leaned forward in his chair.

Cora seated on the settee, sighed, her shoulders were bent forward and as far as her clothing let her, she leaned forward. She rested her head in her hands. “Still, I acted badly. Especially Mrs. Hughes does not deserve that.

“Try to let it rest. What is done, is done.” Robert saw Cora was stubborn.

Cora shook her head and put her shoulders back. “No, I cannot let this rest. I need to fix what I did. I think, I remember what coat Mrs. Hughes was wearing when I stepped in.” She got up and walked to her closet.

“What are you going to do?” Robert asked surprised.

In the meantime, Cora found the right coat and walked to the door. She turned half around and said. “I am going to make a mend.”

+++

Cora walked downstairs, it was already late, and most staff had gone upstairs. She hoped Mrs Hughes would still be downstairs. To her relief, she heard her voice and that of Mrs. Patmore through the door. She knocked and waited for an answer.

“Yes?” Mrs. Hughes voice sounded.

Cora opened the door and said: “May I come in?”

“Please.” Mrs. Hughes stepped back.

Cora started. “Mrs Hughes, I won’t beat about the bush. I behaved badly earlier.” She paused. “I hope you’ll accept my apology.”

“It must have been strange to find us all there, My Lady.” Mrs. Hughes answered as kind as she always was.

Cora now only felt more guilty for the way she treated her. “Nevertheless, I have no excuse to behave as I did.” She said and then made sure to look Mrs Hughes in the eye. “Not to someone who deserves our loyalty as you do. Please forgive me.”

Mrs. Hughes answer was quick “Of course.”

“I can only say I was angry about something quite different. I allowed it to cloud my judgement.”

We’ve all done that, My Lady.” Mrs. Patmore chipped in.

“Finally, I’d like you to have this coat.” Cora handed Mrs. Hughes the package she was holding.

“I… I’m not sure it was a good idea.” Mrs. Hughes stuttered.

Cora smiled. “Please. Or I’ll feel I’ve spoiled the day, which is the very last thing I’d want to do.” She looked at Mrs. Patmore and back to Mrs. Hughes. “Furthermore, I want you to keep it.”

Mrs. Hughes hesitated “Well, I…”

Cora did not let her finish her sentence. “I’ve asked Baxter to fit it for you tonight. She’s happy to do that.” She smiled again.

“Very well, My Lady. I am very grateful. I am not sure when I will wear it again. But you never know.” Mrs. Hughes stroke with her hand over the coat.

Cora chuckled. “You never do.” She started to turn around and opened the door. “I’ll say good night.”

“Good night, Your Ladyship.”

Cora walked back upstairs; she was happy with this gesture. Mrs Hughes deserved her kindness. The hospital business did not make her a nicer person and she hated that about herself.

+++

“How did she take it?” Robert asked when Baxter finally left the room. Cora had entered her room with her lady’s maid. He was already in bed on his side and had waited in silence for Cora to finish her night routine.

Cora got up from her dressing table and walked over to the bed. She dropped her dressing gown at the end of the bed, pulled the covers back and sat down to take off the rest of her jewellery. “I think I was able to make a mend.”

Robert hummed.

Cora´s shoulders bent forward, and she let out a deep sigh. “I truly was out of line today towards our staff. This hospital business needs to end.”

Robert got up on his knees and got closer to Cora. He put his hands on her shoulders and started massaging. “You could pull out of it?”

Cora turned halve around. “What?” her tone was hard.

His movements stilled; he had not calculated she would react in this way. “I mean, you can let Isobel and Mama fight this out themselves.” He felt Cora stiffen.

“It is also my hospital, and Mama need to learn that not everything will go her way.”

Robert tried to calm her down by starting his movements again, but she shrugged his hands off.

“Robert, I mean it.” Now Cora looked him in the eye. “Mama thinks she can rule the world.”

“That is my Mama.” Robert laughed.

“You can laugh, but I am serious. This time I am not backing down. This change can be good for our hospital and the system.” She pulled on the duvet cover. “Can you move? I want to lay down.”

Robert quickly scooted back to his side of the bed and waited for Cora to lay down. She turned on her side facing away from him and turned off her light. Robert waited a minute, but Cora stayed in that position. He moved closer again and put his hand on her upper arm, softly he kissed the back of her head. “I will support you in this.”

Cora did not react, she knew he was only trying to calm her down and when it came to it, he would stand behind his mother, as always.

Robert squeezed her arm and moved his hand up and down. “I promise you; I will support you.”

“Do you mean that? Can you do that? Can you actually not back your mother up, but face her?” Cora’s voice was full of disbelief.

“I know, I have let you down a lot in the past, especially in the first years. But I believe you are right, and the hospital needs this to survive the changing times.” He wrapped his arm around her and pressed her against him. “You made the right decision by giving Mrs. Hughes your coat, she will look wonderful tomorrow when she marries Carson.”

“Mr and Mrs Carson, that will be weird.”

Robert let out a deep sound, what made Cora chuckle. “Another change, no more Mrs. Hughes.” She felt Robert breathing out. With another chuckle she turned around in his arms. “We will also survive that change.”

Robert gave her a smile. “We will get used to it.”

Cora stroke with her hand over his cheek. “Now, let us get some sleep, tomorrow will be a long day with the wedding.” She kissed him and nestled against his chest, safely in his arms.

Plaats een reactie