But Papa! Why? Chapter 16

Cora let the water rain on her head. It was a wonderful feeling to have enough energy to take a shower. She could not place how she was feeling. Waking up with Robert next to her was a very pleasant experience and something she could get used to. But she was not sure what his motives were.

Hopefully, he had found some answers on why her mother was calling her back home. She hated the fact that her mother and, also her father were not giving her explanations. As if she was a little child who should just listen to her parents. They forgot that she was an adult.

She decided to wear jeans and a big fluffy sweater. She was not feeling well enough to dress into something more elegant. But at least she would appear without her sweatpants. Her temperature was back to normal, it was only the stuffiness that was bothering her. She checked herself in the mirror, should she apply some make-up?

Robert put some bread in the toaster when he heard Cora’s bedroom door open. He put down some beans and eggs on a plate. And looked up when Cora stepped into the kitchen. “Good morning.” She looked refreshed, she was wearing mascara he noticed, it made her blue eyes pop.

“Good morning,” Cora answered while sitting down at the table. “It smells nice. Thank you for making us breakfast.”

“I hope you like the English style of breakfast,” Robert said, suddenly insecure about his decision to make her a full English. “You did not have all the ingredients, but beans, bacon and eggs are close enough.”

“Can you tell me why you have bought my house?” Cora ignored his remark about the breakfast.

Robert looked at her before he answered. Did he hear an angry tone? “I wanted to make sure, that if you leave London, it would be your own decision. And not that of your parents.”

Cora nodded.

“Rosamund found out why you were sent to us in the first place. It seems you mother and my mother were planning together. Your mother wants you to marry into a title and my mother wanted me to marry into money.”

“Basically, we were married off, before we even met. Is that what you are saying?” Cora asked.

“Let me tell you everything Rosamund told me.” Robert told her, while she ate her breakfast.

+++

“You know.” Cora started when Robert came back from his shower. “There is one thing I do not understand. What did your mother tell my mother to make her call me back home?”

Robert sat down on one of the big chairs. “That I have not figured out yet, I hope Rosamund has found something. If not, tomorrow I am going into the office to talk with my parents. We need answers.” Robert now leaned forward. “But Cora, I want to make one thing very clear. I did not know anything about this. The reason why I came here, was because I wanted to make sure you were alright. And as I said earlier this weekend, I like you.”

Cora felt her cheeks colour. “I did not mean to paint you off as a bad person.”

Robert cut her off before she could continue. “You did not do that; I fully understand why you may have thought that. Here I am suddenly on your doorstep, and to top it off I bought your house.”

Cora chuckled. “Most man come with flowers, but you come with chicken broth and the house I am living in.”

Now Robert also started to laugh. “We had a weird start, so why would we do it the normal way now?”

Cora looked down at her hands and then back up to Robert. “Can I ask you something?” She said shyly.

“Of course, whatever you want.”

“Why did you give that harsh treatment?”

This time Robert’s face coloured bright red, Cora almost felt guilty asking that question. “I do not think that whatever excuses I have, will make it right what I did. I am also not trying to make it right, because I treated you in a horrible way. I thought you would take my place in the company, that you would be better than me. But at the same time, I realised, that you were a very beautiful woman, and I did everything to prevent me from liking you. I was just scared for what it would bring.” He paused and looked at her. “It is the worst excuses ever and I should not have done it. Can you forgive me?”

“Yes.” Cora said soft. “I think I can. But how do you think we can go from here?”

“My father already offered you a place in our company. He wants you in his team. We also do not want to lose Miss. Baxter, you two are a genius team. The way you both handled Sky Garden is outstanding, and we cannot wait to see more of your work. You will get a decent salary and well, you can stay in this house without rent.”

“Oh no, I cannot accept that, Robert.”

“What do you mean? You do not want the job?”

Cora shook her head. “I cannot accept the living here rent free.”

“My father will only raise your salary, so it will not make any difference.”

“And what about your mother and Rosamund?” Cora asked.

“Rosamund loves you, she is the one who figured this out. And Mama, that is something we will have to deal with on a daily basis. Hopefully Papa can talk some sense into her and maybe she will soften down when you and I start dating.”

Cora’s head shot up and she looked Robert in the eye. “Are we dating?”

Robert started to stutter, and Cora took him out of his misery. “I am only joking. I would love to go on this adventure together with you.”

“Are you sure? My title is more honorary then it does something other than open doors to luxurious parties.”

“Oh, you Donk, do you think I care about that title?”

“Donk?” Robert asked surprised.

“Since I am miss Pretty, we need a name for you, and I think Donk sooths you.”

Robert got up and sat down next to Cora. “Well, miss Pretty.” He took her hands in hers; he could feel that her temperature had gone back to normal. “Do you want to go on a date with me?” He brought her hands to his mouth and kissed her knuckles.

“I would love that.” Cora smiled warmly, fighting again not to kiss him. Her stuffiness was still not fully gone, and she did not want to take the risk of him getting sick. He was already lucky to not have caught her germs after being with her this weekend.

Plaats een reactie