Drabble – cake

Robert walked into the great hall when he saw Cora come up from the kitchens. That was a weird time to discuss the menus with Mrs Patmore he thought. They were not expecting any special guests, were they?

She had a weird expression on her face. It made him stop in his tracks, should he let her know he saw her? Before he could decide, Cora walked up the stairs. Her face was directed to the floor. Something was bothering her, Robert knew. The way her shoulders bent forward and how she tried not to look up, so she would not make eye contact with anybody walking by.

Robert gave her a minute before he ran up the stairs. He needed to know, what had happened in the kitchens. He knocked on her door and without waiting, he opened the door.

He found Cora standing in front of one of the windows, staring outside. Her small figure looked even smaller than normal. Her chestnut brown curls were neatly put up in an updo. She had not reacted to him stepping inside the room. Had she not heard him knock? Quickly he closed the distance between him and her. Gently he placed his hands on her shoulders. “Cora?” He asked.

This startled her. “Oh, Robert. I did not hear you come in. I am sorry.” He saw how she brushed over her cheeks, to hide the tears probably. He could see in her eyes, that she had been crying. She quickly turned her face back to the window.

“What is wrong my dear?” Robert squeezed her shoulders and started massaging them. He felt her react to his movements. He did not like all the fabric between his hands and her skin. He reminded himself that he should give her a proper massage, tonight after they retreated to bed. When he felt Cora let out a deep sigh, he stopped and stepped next to her. “Cora? Can you tell me what is wrong?”

Cora gave him a soft smile. “I just got reminded of how fast the time goes by and…..” her voice stopped, she lowered her eyes and tried not to cry.

Robert got worried, what was making her so upset? He saw her glimmering eyes when she looked up again.

“This war…….” her voice broke again. “Now our youngest is also involved. And what if something happens to Matthew? Or even Thomas.”

“I know, darling. I know.” Robert said while taking her hands in his. “Sybil will be alright, she is a strong young woman.” Suddenly he saw Cora’s face light up.

“She is.” Cora said. “Carson took me down to the kitchens, where I saw her in the kitchen with Mrs. Patmore and Daisy. I think you will like the cake we will eat this afternoon tea.”

Robert looked at her a little bit confused. “What do you mean, darling?”

“Sybil baked a cake.”

“She did? Truly? our Sybil?”

Cora smiled and squeezed Robert’s hands. “I was worried, but I am not anymore. I still wish Isobel had not suggested her to become a nurse. I do not want to think about all the horrors she is going to see. But I also know she is resilient. Carson brought me down, to scold Mrs. Patmore or even Sybil, but I will not. Our little one has grown up and I am proud of her.”

Robert kissed the back of her hand. “You raised three strong woman. It feels like yesterday when you showed me Mary for the first time.”

“Twenty-six years ago, can you believe it?” Cora answered.

Robert stroke with his hand over Cora’s cheek. “Looking at you, I cannot believe almost thirty years have passed, since the first time I saw your beautiful face.”

A smile played around Cora’s mouth. “We should go downstairs; it is almost time for afternoon tea.”

Plaats een reactie