But Papa! Why? Chapter 17

“Is Mama coming in today?” Robert stepped inside his father’s office.

“A very good morning to you too, son.”

Robert sighed. “Good morning, Papa.”

“How is Cora doing? I heard she was sick.”

Robert suspected that Rosamund had told his father. “She is doing better; I think we will see her at the office today. Can you please answer my question?”

“Your mother will not be in today.”

“Of course not,” Robert said frustrated. “She ruins my life but does not have the guts to show her face.”

“You do realise, it is your mother you are talking about.” His father said awfully calm.

With disbelief, Robert looked at his father. “So, you support her in this? What has she told Martha? What lies has she told? And why did you agree with this? What was the purpose of all this?”

Patrick stood up and walked passed Robert to close the door. He gestured to a chair. “Please sit down.”

Robert did as he was told and waited for his father to start.

“You know, we always have tried to expand our company, and this seemed to me the best way to start in America. In the process, I have learned that the American market is not fitting for our business. I have had several conversations with Mr. Levinson. He told me that they never wanted to start here in England. It was all set up to get Cora to this country. If I had known the real reason, I would never have agreed.”

Robert looked at his father in disbelief. “You are telling me, that you did not know about the marrying into money thing?”

Now his father looked at him puzzled. “I am not sure; I know what you are referring too.”

Before Robert could answer, the door opened, and Rosamund stepped inside. “Robert, you are the one I was looking for.”

“Rosamund, can it wait?” Robert said, eager to hear his father’s side of the story.

“You and Papa are talking about the ‘Levinson and son’ business, right?”

“Uhm, yes, so please can it wait. I want to hear Papa’s story.” Robert got annoyed.

“I have something to add to it, but I will wait for Papa to finish.” Rosamund sat down and looked at her father. Who looked a little bit confused at both of his children.

“Robert, I honestly do not know what you mean with marrying into money.”

“Oh, come on, Papa. Stop treating me as if I am a child. You know perfectly well what I mean. You and Mama wanted me to marry Cora for her money. Or at least, the money she will inherit once she marries.”

Patrick’s confusing only got bigger. “Why would I want you to marry Cora for money? We have our own and are living a wealthy lifestyle. Why would I want you to marry into money?”

“Mama, never told you.” Rosamund said softly. “Robert.” she continued. “Mama, told Martha you are engaged to Claire. And that is why she blew everything off and is calling Cora back home.”

“Claire? Who is Claire?” Patrick asked, looking at Robert.

“A girl I went out with once. Why did Mama do that?”

“I guess that the fact that our title does not mean much anymore, was not enough for Martha to call the whole thing off. So, she invented a fake fiancée, to get her to agree you two were not going to be married.” Rosamund said.

Robert sighed. “Well, they failed.”

Rosamund’s head shot in Robert’s direction. “What are you saying?”

Now Robert felt his cheeks burn. “We are not marrying, not yet, or maybe never. But we are going on a date as soon as she is fully recovered from her cold.”

“I thought you did not like Cora?” Patrick now said.

Rosamund laughed out loud. “Something Robert thought himself too. But he fooled us all. I believe he is head over heels in love with her.”

“Son, I am going to talk with your mother. If I had known she was interfering with your life this much, I would have stopped her. You know I love your mother, but sometimes she has to be stopped. Oh, before I forget, did Cora accept my offer?”

Now Robert started smiling. “She did, Cora would love to work for you.”

“That is one positive outcome out of all of this. We will have a great new employee.”

+++

Cora heard the phone ring multiple times; it took a long time before it was picked up. But when she was about to give up, it was answered.

“‘Levinson and son’, how can I help you?” A very friendly voice sounded.

Her phone got connected to the receptionist. “Hello, this is Miss. Levinson speaking, can you please connect me to Mr. Levinson senior?”

“Good morning, Miss Levinson, I am very sorry to tell you, but your father is not at the office today.”

“When will he be in?” Cora asked.

It stayed silent on the other side, this worried Cora. “I do not know miss, maybe you could call Mr. Levinson?”

Cora took a deep breath. “Thank you, I will do that.”

Without any hesitation, Cora dialled her brother’s number. “Cora, I was about to call you.” He answered.

“Harold? What is going on? Papa is not in the office and the receptionist told me to call you.”

“Papa, will not be in the office for a long time, I am afraid.”

Cora got cold all of a sudden. “Harold, what do you mean?”

“He is in the hospital; he had a heart attack, and it is not looking good.”

“Oh no, no, no, no. Please do not tell me he is dying. Not while I am this far away.” Cora cried.

“I am so sorry, but I wish I had better news.”

“Please tell him to hold on, I am coming as soon as a plane is leaving. Please, please let him know I am coming.”

“Be safe, darling sister. Please be safe.”

Cora put her phone down and for a minute she could only stare at it. This must be a nightmare, a horrible nightmare. Not her darling Papa.

Plaats een reactie