Follow your heart or family, part two, chapter 5

Cora woke up from the sun hitting her eyes. Robert was still fast asleep.

They arrived in the hotel yesterday evening. Robert had booked the Barcelona Suite in the Mandarin Oriental Barcelona; he was quite upset when he couldn’t book the penthouse. He had said that only the best was good enough for his Cora. But Cora was living her best life, this suite was enormous. Outside on the terrace there was a hot tub, the bathtub inside gave a perfect view over the city, and they had a private butler.

Something Robert wanted at home, but Cora wasn’t having it. A cleaner in their home was enough, she didn’t need anyone to bring her coffee. Violet had recently hired a butler, and since then Robert was talking about it.

Cora got up and started the day with a hot bath, she was feeling nauseous  and hoped it would help. She would go and play tourist today, as Robert was busy with the new office here in Barcelona. At the end of the week the opening would take place, and there would be a big party. She was looking forward to it, Robert had bought her a beautiful pink dress and for himself he bought a new tuxedo.

When she got out of the tub, a wave of nausea hit her again. She threw up everything that was inside her. It had woken up Robert and he rushed to the bathroom. He was holding up her hair and rubbing her back.

“Did you eat something bad, dear?”

Cora just shook her head, unable to speak when a new wave hit her. She felt like she was puking her brains out.

+++

The butler had brought breakfast, for Cora just some light toast. She was feeling better and during the day she felt normal again. She had texted Robert, she was ok and send him a selfie with Park Güell in the background.

She called Rosamund to check on Mary. It was their first holiday since Mary was born. Cora would have loved to bring Mary, but that wouldn’t be sensible with the events they had to attend. And having time together with Robert was precious.

Robert was straightening his jacket and looked at Cora. She was stunning in this bright pink dress. The neckline was low and showed of the brim of her breast. Cora was glowing, her hair touching her shoulder, it had a little curl in it. He was happy Cora was feeling better in the evening because each morning started with her throwing up.

He walked over to Cora and put a beautiful necklace on her. She touched it with her hands and looked at him through the mirror. “Thank you darling, this is beautiful.”

“Only the best for my wife. Are you ready?”

Cora took his hand and gave him a quick kiss.

+++

The evening had been a success, Cora had brought her camera to capture the event. She was in her element, taking pictures of everything. Once she had the pictures they needed for the website and social media, she shifted her attention to Robert. He looked incredibly handsome, his dark hair, short and slightly curly. His cheekbones strong and his jawline was just perfect. His upper body always straight. He looked so fine in his new tuxedo. She couldn’t wait to be back in the hotel room.

She started photographing some scenery shots outside, she needed to contain herself, otherwise she would rip Robert’s clothes of in the middle of this room. While she was making the pictures, she felt a hand on her hip, it wasn’t Robert’s, the hand was too small.

“Good to see you again.” A familiar voice said.

Cora froze, it was Simon. The slight creepy sound in his voice, gave Cora goosebumps. She pushed his hand away, turned around and said: “Hello Simon, what are you doing here?” Cora tried to keep her voice steady, but she was shaking from the inside.

Simon cornered her. “I am working with a Spanish artist and when I saw the announcement of this event, I needed to come. I wanted to see you. I thought you could use some attention, as your husband isn’t giving you any.” He pressed Cora’s hands against the wall. He came closer.

Cora could feel his breath.” Simon, you need to let me go.”

“Not before I show you what you have been missing.” His hand grabbed between her legs, and he tried to press his lips on Cora’s. But before he could touch them, he was pulled backwards very abruptly.

Cora saw Robert standing there with Simon’s collar in his hands. He had pushed him against the pilar next to them. He raised his fist, but Cora grabbed it. “Robert, he isn’t worth it. Please let him go.”

“You see, your wife doesn’t mind, she wants to know what I can offer.”

Cora felt her own hand slapping Simon’s cheek. “You bastard.” She exclaimed. “Why do you think, I would want something from you. From the moment we met, you never showed any interest in me, except for my body. You will leave this instant, if not, I will call the cops on you and make a sexual abuse claim. Never show your face near me again. I will ruin your life, I swear.” Cora was steaming with rage.

Simon left like a dog with his tail between his legs.

Robert looked at Cora and wanted to hug her. But she straightened her back and said: “We should go back inside; your guests are waiting.” She walked back in.

+++

Back in the hotel Cora slipped on her nightgown and got in bed. Robert wasn’t sure if they needed to talk or not. He decided to leave it to Cora and got in bed on his side. Cora was laying on her side with her light out. After a while Robert felt the bed move from her little shakes.

He moved his body and pulled her close. Her head resting on his upper arm. “Let it out darling, just let it out.” brushing her hair and arm.

“Oh Robert, how could he!” Cora sniffed. “Why was he there, why did he feel the need to touch me? What did I do to give him the idea I am willing?”

Robert kissed her hair: “Hush sweetheart, you didn’t do anything. Men like Simon always find ways to do what they want to do. I wish I had spotted him earlier. When I saw him go outside, I knew enough. I hope he didn’t get the chance to really do you harm?”

“No, he didn’t, he only touched me.”

“That’s already too much. He shouldn’t touch you at all. I am sorry, I wasn’t there to keep you two safe.” His hand lowered to her abdomen.

Cora turned around in surprise. “How did you know? I am not sure myself. I was planning on a doctor’s visit when we are back home.”

“Princess, you are having morning sickness for this whole week now. I don’t think we need a doctor’s visit, to know that you are pregnant.”

“It is so soon, Mary is just 7 months old, I was finally starting to feel like myself again. I am happy, but it is really unexpected.”

“Having them close in age will make their bond stronger, and I love seeing you pregnant. You are a beautiful woman and being pregnant you just glow.”

Cora snuck even closer to Robert; her hands played with his chest hair. “Maybe this time we will get a baby boy.”

Plaats een reactie