Follow your heart or family, part two, chapter 4

A couple of days went by, Robert and Cora only exchanged words when needed. Robert was sleeping in the guest’s bedroom, he finally put together the bed in there. That was the only good thing about their fight.

Robert had hired a cleaning lady, and Cora was adapting to this change. It was hard to have someone in her home, while she also was home. But Robert thought it was best, and she followed, not wanting to make him angrier.

It was Saturday and Cora sat silently next to Robert in their car, Mary making sounds in her car seat. It was time for their weekly lunch at Violet’s. Cora was dreading every minute. What had Robert told his mother? Rosamund was also invited. Cora would have someone to talk to, as Robert was still not speaking with her.

Lunch had been awkward, of course Violet had noticed something was wrong. She wasn’t saying anything, not yet, Cora thought. Mary was starting to fuss in her stroller. Cora got up from the table: “I need to feed Mary, can I use the sitting room?”

“You better use the library.” Rosamund said, and got up. “I’m coming with you.” Meanwhile giving Robert a meaningful look.

+++

“Cora, is everything alright between you and Robert?”

Cora looked up: “not really, we had a fight a couple of days ago and since then Robert isn’t talking to me.”

“Robert did tell me about it. But I wasn’t aware, he was still mad at you. He can be so hard-headed sometimes.” Rosamund sighed.

“Rosamund, I never said anything insulting about your mother, it is just, sometimes she is too much. I can’t do anything right and I feel so pressed by her. I want to be a good wife for Robert, a good mother to Mary and a good daughter-in-law for your mother. But recently I seem to fail at all three.”

“According to that content baby in your arms, you aren’t failing. Robert needs to grow up and see that his mother has her faults, and till now you made him very happy. You two just need to adjust to this new chapter of your live. But mostly I think, you need to have something to keep you busy. Being a full-time mum is fun, but not forever.”

Cora caressed Mary’s back: “I know you are right, I need something, I loved working, but after that full-time photography study and having Mary, I didn’t get the chance to look for something. And honestly, I wouldn’t know where to start.”

“I can help you with it.” Rosamund said enthusiastic. “We want to add a new service to our company: a professional photographer, who can make pictures for websites and brochures. For example, there is a big furniture company who we are working with right now. They need new pictures for their website. You could make them. I already kind of said, we would deliver a photographer.”

“What does Robert think of this idea?” Cora asked insecure.

“He wants to add this service to our company.”

“But he doesn’t know I am the photographer?” Cora raised her eyebrows.

“Not yet, I first wanted to discuss this with you, before talking to Robert. Do you want to do this? You can work part-time, and schedule your own hours”

“I would love this, it’s a longtime dream to work in marketing or advertising.” Cora’s eyes started twinkling again.

“That’s settled then, leave Robert to me, I will talk to him this afternoon. I will ask him to come for dinner tonight.”

“I promised my mother to eat at her place tonight, so I can’t be there.” Cora murmured.

“Even better, Marmaduke and I can work on Robert. Leave my silly brother to me.” Rosamund took Mary, from Cora’s arms. She cuddled the little girl and said: “And don’t you worry about not being a good mother, because you are!”

+++

“Robert, why aren’t you speaking with Cora?”

He sighed:” Can we not talk about that, please? When are you going to France?”

“Don’t change the subject!” Violet sneered.

“Mama, I am not going to discuss this with you. It is between me and Cora. We will figure this out, but you need to stay out of it.”

“Is Cora giving up on her duties? She needs to grab herself together. Just get her to bottle feed Mary, and please let her hire a nanny!”

“Mama!” Robert huffed. “We are adults, we can raise Mary in our own way. What was good back when Rosamund and I were children, isn’t necessarily good for our child!” Robert noticed he was defending Cora. Was Cora right? Was mama to much?

They got interrupted by Rosamund and Cora, who walked back in the sitting room. “Robert, Cora told me she is going for dinner at her mother’s, do you want to come home with me for dinner?” Rosamund said.

“I am not invited?” Violet asked surprised.

“You got that right, mama. I want to have dinner with just my brother. Like before, we always had lunch dates and I miss that.” Rosamund needed an excuse, but she really felt this way. She gave Cora’s hand a quick squeeze.

“I see you tonight, Robert.” Cora got her bag and walked out with Mary.

+++

When Cora came home after the dinner at her mother’s house, the house was dark and silent. She looked at her watch, it was just ten o’clock. She carefully laid Mary in her crib. She was so happy to have this stroller, Robert had laughed when she wanted this one, he had said: just because it is the most expensive one, that doesn’t mean it is the best. But it was the best Cora thought. The cradle was like a bed, so she could easily let Mary sleep in there when needed.

Cora got in the bedroom and heard the soft breathing sounds of Robert. It was soothing to hear him; it was the first night he was back in their bedroom. She undressed in the bathroom, tried not to make a sound and got in the bed.

After a while she heard: “Are you awake?” And she felt Robert move.

“I am.”

Robert turned on his bedside light: “I think it is time we talk, but first I need to apologize. The way I reacted was way out of line. This afternoon at my mother’s I realized how she is judging you. And I am sorry, I didn’t want to see that.”

Cora breathed in, surprised. She didn’t know what to say.

“I can’t wait to see you at work.” He grinned.

“Are you sure? Do you really want me to work for you?”

Robert leaned over to kiss Cora: “You aren’t working for me, but with me.”

Cora wrapped her arms around him. “You can’t believe how happy you make me right now; you are really sure?”

“I acted like a real jerk last week, and I am sorry if I hurt you. I didn’t mean to say that my mother was right. But I got defensive of her, I can’t explain.”

“Robert, she is your mother, I understand. I also shut you out. I should have said something earlier. I was really burning up inside but wasn’t sure how to tell you. I didn’t want to disappoint you and….”

Robert planted his lips on hers to silence her, Cora answered passionately. He moaned: “oh God how I missed you.” He was feeling her body with his hands. “Are you ready for me?” He asked eager.

Cora answered by pulling Robert closer. He was sitting on top of her, pressing her thighs with his, and he was playing with her breasts. “Since you gave birth, you are even more beautiful.” He gulped.

Cora’s hands were resting on Robert’s hips, he hadn’t work out for a while now, and she could feel he was getting a little chubby, but she liked that very much. She moved her hands to his chest and played with his chest hair, moved one hand to the back of his head and pulled him closer. “I want to feel you.” She whispered in his ear.

Robert didn’t need more. He moved his body, and carefully entered Cora. It was a long time ago they had shared this much passion.

Finally they fell asleep in each other’s arms, and it was the first night Mary slept through it.

+++

Cora woke up from the little cries of Mary. She tried to get up, but Robert was laying on her hair and his leg was wrapped around hers. Carefully she pulled her hair underneath him and gave him a soft kiss. He woke up instantly and took her head in his hands to kiss her back.

“Robert, I would love to go on where we left yesterday, but Mary is crying, I need to feed her.”

Before she could get up, Robert was standing beside the bed. “I will get her; you can stay in bed.”

Robert sat a while and looked at Cora feeding Mary, it was mesmerizing. Mary was growing so fast, she wasn’t the breakable baby anymore for some time now. She got chubby legs and arms, and her dark brown eyes were looking into the world with great interest. He was amazed when he saw her brown eyes. He didn’t know that was possible, because both he and Cora had blue eyes.

Robert had made a quick breakfast and served it to Cora in bed. He had got back in, it was Sunday morning and they did not have plans for this day. Mary was laying in between them, and he was making her laugh. He couldn’t wait to see her grow.

Plaats een reactie