Love isn’t always easy. Chapter 5

Cora woke up to a very familiar smell, Robert always had a deep musky smell in the morning. She opened her eyes and was shocked to see Robert next to her. Her head was pounding, she definitely drank too much last night. Slowly her memory came back, she was seductive to Robert, but she didn’t remember they did something. Why was he in her bed, and why was she naked? She sniffed up his smell, it made her all warm inside. She knew very well why they divorced, but this moment made her doubt their decision.

Quietly she got out of bed. Put on a pants and shirt, and went downstairs. She needed breakfast, so she could take a painkiller for her pounding head.

“Good morning, Mama.” Sybil’s voice greeted her, when she walked into the kitchen. All three of her girls were sitting at the kitchen table.

“Did you all sleep here?” She asked in surprise.

“We did, we watched the ceremony together and decided to wait for you, but it got so late, we went to bed.” Mary said.

“Mum, did we hear it correct? Did Papa call you his wife?”

Cora’s cheeks coloured. “He did, he said it was out of habit. It doesn’t mean anything. If you girls excuse me, I forgot something upstairs, will be back soon.”

“Do you want breakfast?” Sybil called after her.

“Yes please.” Cora hurried back upstairs. Robert couldn’t come downstairs right now, not with the girls in her home.

+++

She sat down next to Robert and softly touched his arm. “Robert, wake up.”

He moaned softly but opened his eyes. She saw the same confusion in his eyes, as she felt when she woke up. “Sssstt, don’t make too much sound.”

“Why not?” He sat up.

“The girls stayed the night here at my home. So they are downstairs in the kitchen.”

Robert frowned. “If they see me, they will think we are back together.”

“I guess we are not, right?” Cora asked softly.

Robert took her hand. “I loved every minute of last night, but we made the decision 4 years ago not light hearted. We talked about it for a long time before we signed the papers.”

Cora lowered her eyes. “I know, but sometimes I wonder……”

“I am happy we are back to talking normally again.”

Cora chuckled. “I think I went a bit to far last night, did we do something?” Her cheeks bright red.

Robert kissed her cheek and put his hand in her neck. “No, we didn’t and lets just say, that was your present for me winning the award.” He chuckled, but suddenly stopped.

“What?” Cora asked.

“My car. It’s on the driveway, the girls will recognize it.”

“Well, than you better come downstairs and we just say, you slept here because it was very late already.”

“Our girls, are too clever for that lie, but we don’t have another option. I will come down soon. But first I will take a shower.”

+++

Cora was just eating her breakfast, Sybil had made a full English for her, when Robert entered the kitchen.

“Papa.” All three girls said together.

“Good morning girls, that is a first. All of us in this kitchen.”

Cora tried to not look at him or the girls. She focused on her eggs.

“Does this mean? Are you and Mama….” Edith started.

“I drove your Mama home last night, after helping her with the dress, it was late and I decided to sleep here. Is there more of that delicious breakfast?”

Sybil got up. “I will make more, Mama always has food for a whole orphanage.”

Robert smiled and sat down. “That’s your, Mama for you.”

+++

Robert had left in the early afternoon, and Cora had gone to her atelier in the garden, to work on a project.

She was listening to music, when the door opened. Mary poked her head around the corner. “Do you have a minute?”

“Of course darling, come in.” Cora smiled at her. She loved the days Mary stayed at her home, although she was working in her atelier.

“About last night.”

Cora took a deep breath, she knew Mary would come back on this.

“I know, what you think. but we aren’t back together.”

Mary looked at her with her intense dark eyes. Something Cora never understood but learned later on, that even if the parents both have blue eyes, a child can have brown eyes. “Mum, if it is the case, that would be alright. For Sybil, Edith and me it doesn’t matter. In fact, we cheered last night when Papa called you his wife.”

“I know you girls, would love to see us back together again, but don’t get your hopes up.”

Mary walked over to Cora and gave her a hug. “Do what makes you happy Mama.” She kissed her cheek and walked out of the room. “I am going back home, Matthew wants to go out for dinner tonight.”

“Have fun, darling.” Cora stayed behind with a strange feeling. She really wanted to feel Robert last night and she truly missed him. At the same time she knew it wouldn’t work out. Too much time had passed.

+++

“Why did you call her your wife?” Violet said, when Robert paid her a visit.

Robert sighed. His Mama never really liked Cora. She was to American, she always said. But Robert knew better, Cora wasn’t the typical American girl. She fitted perfectly in the British society, and especially in the upper class. She had a natural elegance, what a lot of real British woman lacked.

“I am talking to you, Robert!” Violet demanded.

“Sorry, Mama. I called her my wife out of habit. It didn’t mean anything. I bloody well know we are divorced. Anything else you want to scold me for, otherwise I will go on with my day.”

Violet blinked rapidly. She wasn’t used to Robert talk back to her. That was definitely Cora’s influence. It was better they divorced, Robert should find a new wife. He couldn’t stay single, he was still young enough to find a new love.

 

Plaats een reactie