Love isn’t always easy. Chapter 6

Robert knew he wasn’t making a smart decision, but he picked up the bottle of wine and wend over to Cora’s house. He didn’t know if she would be at home.

Cora opened the door, she was wearing dungarees and her hair was tight up with a colourful cloth. She had paint stripes on her cheeks. Behind one ear was a brush.

“Robert? Did I forget something?” She said shocked.

“No, no. I am here spontaneously.” Robert swallowed. “I just thought it would be nice to spend some time together. I enjoyed our time together at the ceremony so much. Do you have time?”

Cora made a soft sound, that sounded like. ‘awww.’ She opened the door further. She brushed her hands against her dungarees. “Come in, come in. I am sorry for the way I look.”

Robert grinned. “Don’t you worry. Actually, you look kinda cute.”

“Are you flirting with me?” Cora raised her eyebrows.

“What if I am?”

Cora shrugged her shoulders. “I don’t know. I will change my clothes, just wait in the sitting room.” Cora rushed upstairs. Her mind was spinning. What was he doing here. Why was he flirting with her. He was the one who insisted on the divorce. Was this all because she made advances on that evening of the ceremony?

She was standing in front of her closet, what should she wear? She decided for a simple jeans and blouse. She put a clip in her hair to tame her curls. Quickly she sprayed some perfume, checked herself in de mirror and went done.

Robert had found cheese and sausage in the fridge and made a plate. “I hope you don’t mind?” He said pointing at the cheese.

“No, no, it’s alright.” Cora lingered in the doorway.

“Come sit down.” He put his hand on the couch.

Cora decided to sit on the chair opposite of him instead. “Why are you here?” She asked.

Robert smiled at her. “I realised, how much I miss you and I thought maybe, we can start with spending more time together.”

“Start?” Cora said with raised eyebrows.

“We will see where it leads us, right?”

Cora gave in, there was no harm in spending more time together. She had to admit, she missed his company too. “I was planning on watching a movie tonight. We can watch it together?” She suggested.

+++

Robert had scooted closer to Cora during the movie. She had moved to the couch. Her head was resting on his shoulder.

Suddenly the front door opened and voices filled the hallway.

Cora jerked up, blushing.

“Papa?” It was Mary who stepped inside the room first, Sybil followed her.

Cora stood. “We were just watching a movie together.” She said apologetic.

“You don’t have to explain to us. You and Papa are allowed to spend time together.”

Sybil looked from her father to her mother. It made her happy to see them together again, but it also made her anxious.

Robert also got up. “I think it is time for me to go home.” He put his hand on Cora’s lower back and kissed her cheek.

Cora gave him a smile and briefly touched his arm. “Thank you for tonight.”

“I will let myself out.” Robert kissed his girls on the cheek and left.

“Girls? Why are you here at this time at night?”

“Mary, forgot her handbag last week in her room. We are on our way out to a party.”

Cora looked at her watch, it was 23.00 o’clock. “At this time? Where are you going?”

“Oh Mama, if I hadn’t forget my handbag here, you wouldn’t know we were going out.” Mary said annoyed.

“That is right, but now I know.”

“Sybil is 18, I am 21. We are old enough to go out.”

Cora sighed. “I know, I know and I did the same when I was your age. Don’t mind me. Enjoy you time out.” She kissed her girls on the cheek, picked up the wine glasses and proceeded to clean up the coffee table. “Are you sleeping here? Or at home?” She asked Sybil.

“At home or at Mary’s. It depends what time it will be when we go home.”

“Oke, good to know. I will not wait for you than. Enjoy.”

Cora got upstairs after cleaning up the kitchen. She curled up into a ball and tried to catch some sleep, but it wasn’t easy tonight to clear her head.

+++

“Do you think Mama and Papa will go back together again?” Sybil asked Mary.

Mary frowned. “I don’t know. We shouldn’t get out hopes up.”

Sybil shrugged. “You know, although they fought a lot. I would love to see them back together. I miss our family.”

Mary wrapped her arm around Sybil. “I know you do, I do too. Luckily we have each other. Come we are going to have fun.”

+++

Robert stepped inside his own home. He had hoped the evening would have ended differently. He wasn’t expecting the girls to step inside. But maybe this was for the best. Was it wise, he was trying this. He was the one who threw the towel and made the decision it was time to separate. Did that mean he was also the one who could initiate them coming back together. Was that what he wanted?

He didn’t know what he wanted. He only knew he missed Cora’s warmth next to him in bed. Coming home and smelling her perfume. Finding her in the shower in the evening. Seeing her cook dinner together with the girls. Dancing around the house with her. Hearing her sing along with the radio. Seeing her helping the girls with their home work.

He took a warm shower to clear his head and got in bed. He fell asleep almost directly, with Cora’s smell still in his nose, he was sure to have a wonderful dream.

 

Plaats een reactie