We have been happy, haven’t we? Chapter 4

Cora was woken up by the soft voice of her ladies maid, Baxter. She had hoped Robert would come up to wake her. She knew that was unrealistic, although Robert slept in her bedroom every night, it was not proper. He always had his bed made up in his dressing room, but he only slept there when they were cross with each other. Luckily that did not happen very often. She was very lucky with Robert as her husband. Yes, he married her for her money, but he made up for it.

“His lordship asked me to wake you up, milady.”

Cora gave her a smile. She grew very fond of this woman. She remembered the first morning she was in service. Baxter had brought her a glass of orange juice. She felt betrayed the moment O’Brien sneaked out like a thief in the night. But now she looked back, she was more than happy with Baxter. This woman was so much kinder, than O’Brien ever had been.

“Are you alright, Milady?” There was worried wrinkle on Baxter’s forehead. “Should I call for his lordship?”

Cora got up and sat on the side of the bed to let her dizziness pass. “I am alright enough, thank you.”

She let Baxter help her in her dress. She opted for a light dress, she could not handle the tight fabric tonight. Cora took in a deep breath. She had a terrible headache and, she put her hand on her abdomen, was not sure if she could eat with this heartburn.

“I will bring you something for your stomach Milady. Andy is waiting in the hallway to help you downstairs.”

Cora touched Baxter’s arm. “You are very sweet, thank you.” Cora opened her bedroom door and there was Andy to offer her his arm. She dreaded the stairs, but with Andy it would be manageable. When they were halve way, she needed to stop.

“I will take her from here.” Robert’s voice sounded and he rushed up the stairs. He wrapped his arm around Cora’s waist. “I would carry you if that was appropriate.” He whispered.

Together, they descended further, once they were downstairs, Cora took his arm. They could not walk into the dining room, with his arm around her. Mr. Barber, Mr. Dexter and Ms Dalgleish would be present.

+++

“Shall we go through?” Cora said, once everybody was finished eating.

Robert waited a little bit longer and let everybody leave in front of him. “Should we go and tell Mama?” He asked Cora softly.

“Better not, let wait for the results so we know what it is. We would only worry her, and she does not need that right now.”

Robert nodded, he offered Cora his hand so she could get up.

Once Cora was standing up, she pressed her hands in her lower back. She was very stiff. Cora saw a smile on Robert’s face. “Something funny?”

Robert shook his head. “Just a happy memory.”

“Do you want to share it with me?” Cora leaned on his arm.

“I will tell you later, do you want to go to the sitting room, or rather go upstairs?”

He saw the thoughts going through Cora’s head. He knew she was over thinking the consequences of not showing her face, especially because they had guest. Although they were not really guests. “Cora.” He said softly, so the servants who were still in the room could not hear him. “Nobody will mind if you decide to go up and if they do, that is their problem.”

“Mama, will judge me, for going up.” Cora was leaning heavily on his arm now, she felt dizzy.

“That’s it.” Robert said, when he felt Cora slipping. “I will bring you upstairs, I don’t care what anybody will think of it, and especially not Mama.”

“Grandmama, will not care Mama.” It was Mary’s voice. She stepped closer. “The trip to France has taken its toll on you. Please, Mr. Barber will understand.”

“But I promised Miss Dalgleish my help.”

“You can do that tomorrow, although I do not understand why she would need your help.” Mary said, wrapping her arm around her mother.

Cora only smiled at her, she was not going to tell her what she was planning with Ms Dalgleish, she would find out soon enough. She let them guid her to her bedroom.

+++

Baxter left the room, all the lights were out, the only light in the room came from the fireplace. Cora always loved falling asleep with the sound of the crackling fire. She turned on her side and closed her eyes. Suddenly she felt Robert’s lips on her forehead, and she opened her eyes again.

“Darling?”

“There is nothing wrong, sweetheart. It is just. I promised you to tell you that happy memory I had just now, in the dining room.”

Cora chuckled. “You don’t have to tell me tonight. I bet it is way more interesting to be downstairs and listen to what all the film people have to say.”

“Nothing is more interesting than to be with my wife.” Robert corrected her. “You are my everything.”

Cora reached out to him, she touched his cheek. “I love you, now tell me your memory, before I fall asleep.” Cora could feel Robert smiling against her hand. The moment when Robert told her, he loved her, had sparked her love for him even more. And now he told her, like that evening in France, that she was his everything. She could only hope she would be his everything for a long time. But the way she felt right now, did make her insecure. What if she was leaving him soon. A tear rolled down her cheek.

Robert brushed her tear away and softly kissed the palm of her hand. “I was here for a happy memory, not one that would make you cry.” He needed to swallow the lump in his throat away. Seeing Cora in this state broke him, she was always his strength. He scraped his throat. “When you pressed your hands in your back, it reminded me of the night before Mary was born. I had been drinking late with guests and when I wanted to go upstairs, I found you at the bottom of the stairs. Staring upstairs, with your hands in your back. Your belly was enormous.”

Semi-irritated Cora swatted at his legs. “With Mary I wasn’t even that big. It was with Sybil, when I looked like a whale.”

Now Robert laughed out loud. “You are right, you were small with Mary, your bump was also very restricted by your corset. I still do not understand how you can wear them, especially not during your pregnancies.”

Cora gave him an annoyed look, he did not correct her on her saying she looked like a whale. Robert seemed to understand what he just said, because he turned bright red.

“Of course, you did not look like a whale with Sybil. Yes, you were a little bigger, but so incredibly beautiful. I always thought you were beautiful, but the glow on your skin during your pregnancies was incredibly beautiful. Well, I carried you upstairs that evening. I still hear your protest. But there was no change you would have managed that stairs. Later we learned labour had already started and the next day you made me a father of a beautiful little girl.”

“I was so scared, to tell you she was a girl, but the moment you stepped inside the room I knew it did not matter to you. You had been scared out of your mind. I remember trying not to cry out to much, but it did hurt quite a bit.”

“Quite a bit.” Robert exclaimed, if it was up to me, we would never had gone for a second child. I still do not understand how you woman do this.”

“It is how God made us darling.” She yawned and closed her eyes. Her headache was bothering her. “Robert? Can you ask Baxter to bring something up for my head?”

Softly he put his hand on her forehead. “Is it hurting again?” He noticed she felt warm to the touch. “Do you want me to sleep in my dressing room tonight?”

Cora’s eyes shot open. “Have you gone mad? I demand you will sleep here tonight.”

Robert kissed Cora on her lips. “You wish is my command.” He felt Cora’s hand in his neck, she played with his hair. He kissed her again but pulled himself back before he could kiss her again. He would love to feel her, but she needed her rest. “Sleep tight my darling.” Cora had her eyes closed again.

 

Plaats een reactie