We have been happy, haven’t we? Chapter 5

Robert saw Cora and Edith walking in the garden, he just had a chat with Mr. Barber and Mary about how the servants would stand in as actors in the film.

He went outside and joined them.

`Hello, Papa, have you spoken with Grandmama yet about….”

Cora put her hand on Edith’s arm, trying to stop her. She saw Robert’s face cloud.

“I think, I will go and work on my article.” Edith said quickly, kissed her mother on her cheek and left.

Cora hooked her arm in Robert’s and started walking again.

“I do not know why I am postponing talking to Mama.” Robert said frowning.

“It is totally understandable you are postponing it. I think I would do the same.”

“Oh no you would not.” Robert chuckled. “You would run upstairs and ask directly, you are not scared for answers.”

Cora stopped walking. “You really think, I am never scared?” She looked up at him.

Robert moved his hand to her cheek. “You make it look like you are never scared.” He kissed her forehead. “I wish I had that strength, I worry about everything all the time.” He looked into Cora’s eyes, he had to be honest he saw some fear and he regretted saying she was never scared. Of course, she was, she was scared she was going to leave him soon. Would she be scared he would not manage without her, because she would be right. How was he going to deal with everything life threw at him, without his Cora next to him. She was always the sensible one. When he lost all their money, she was the one who calmy excepted that they would move.

“Robert?” Cora squeezed his arm where her hand was resting. “Can you take me with you in your thought process?”

They were near the secret garden, Cora loved this area. All the flowers that were blooming, gave a wonderful scent. Robert was still not saying anything. “You remember when we walked out here about a year after we wear married?” She asked.

Now Robert was paying attention to her. “I am afraid you need to refresh my memory a little bit. I was somewhere else.”

“What were you thinking off? I hope a good memory.”

Robert shook his head. “It is a sad one, but at the same time a wonderful one.”

“Now, let’s hear your memory first.” Cora encouraged him.

“Do you remember that time I invested in the railways?” Robert looked down at his shoes.

“When all our money was lost? Yes, I do remember.”

“Oh darling, how could you forgive me for that so easily. You were only thinking about the upcoming wedding of Mary and Matthew, and you certainly did not mind, moving out of Downton. And there I was, all caught up in my desperate feeling of not wanting or being able to say goodbye to our home.”

“You grew up at Downton, it was the only place you had ever lived. For me it was different, I moved out of my country into a foreign one. Downton was my home, but I could settle in a new place. And you have to admit, Downton Place, was not that bad.”

Robert laughed. “Not that bad, it was a bit small!”

“You are exaggerating, the housing we offer our staff, that is small, Downton Place was not small at all.”

Robert frowned and looked at Cora. “You think we should build bigger houses for them?”

“No, that is not what I am saying. Not everybody can live in a big house like Downton, but saying Downton Place was small, is not correct.”

Robert raised Cora’s hand to his mouth and planted a kiss on the back of it. “You are right, of course you are.” He felt Cora tremble. “Are you alright?”

“Alright enough, but I could use a rest, before we walk back to the house.”

Robert helped her down on one of the benches. “Are you warm enough?”

Cora smiled up at him and took his hand. Her fingers intertwined with his. “As long as I can hold your hand, I am. Do you remember that day when you told me you loved me?” Cora saw Robert’s lips curl up in a smile. He did remember and knowing he did made her heart flutter. He was the most adorable man she ever met.

“We were walking in this part of the garden after Mary was born. You wanted to get out of the house. I remember you and Mama had an argument, I do not remember about what.”

Cora huffed. “Your Mama and I had constant arguments, but I bet it had to do with me taking care of Mary. I was too hands on according to your mother.”

Robert wrapped his arm around Cora’s shoulders. “I know, I never supported you during that time, but I know for a fact our girls turned out the way they are today, because you gave them attention.”

Cora turned her face towards him. “You never took my side, but rarely took you mothers, most of the time you stayed out of it and that was enough for me. I understood you did not want to say anything to hurt your mother.”

“But I had better stood up for you, because I was hurting you.”

Cora shook her head. “No, you were not.”

“Are you sure?” Robert looked at her with his puppy eyes.

Cora pressed her lips against Roberts. “After you told me, you loved me, there was nothing that could hurt me anymore. The man I loved with everything I was, loved me back. You gave me my beautiful darling girls. You gave me everything a girl could wish for. The most beautiful jewellery, clothes. There was nothing I was short of.

Robert swallowed, he had his short comings. “You remember when you fell sick with the Spanish flue?” Robert started, when children voices sounded, but he could not finish his question.

“I think they are here.” George said and he came around a bush. “I told you I would find them. He exclaimed. Mary was following him with Caroline next to her.

“Mama, Papa, we were worried.”

Cora got up from the bench and walked towards George. Robert noticed she was a little bit more stable on her legs today. He saw how Cora took George’s hand and started to walk back to the house. “Darling, do not worry too much, when things will go worse, we will tell you. I promise.” She said softly and touched Mary’s cheek.

 

Plaats een reactie